Archive | August 1, 2013

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic. Emily Croy Barker.

The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

ARC provided by Netgalley.

I love books about magic, but as this is Emily’s début novel I didn’t know what to expect. Its been compared to Deborah Harness Witches trilogy which I love, so I put in my request. Started it yesterday and was engrossed and transported into a different world.

It starts in a fairly conventional way, then Grad student Nora wanders off from a wedding party into a churchyard…and steps through into another dimension, populated with all sorts of folk including the Faitloren, a magical group who need her for a specific reason. There follows all sorts of adventures. Fabulous parties with amazing food and clothes, sunshine and sweetness everyday. Nora meets all sorts of people from history, goes all over the world in the blink of an eye and doesn’t find anything strange about this, except occasionally a little voice in the back of her mind says “is this real”, but then Ilissa plans another party and the roundabout starts again. Once Raclin marries Nora then a different side to the group emerges, and she learns the truth about her friends but she’s trapped.

The story is full of kidnappings, rescues, escapes, magical creatures and dangerous undertakings. The magician Aruendiel has taken her in reluctantly, and over the following months she works in his household with his long time housekeeper. Slowly she persuades him to teach her magic, it takes up time but that’s something she has in abundance, not knowing when or if ever she can return home.

The descriptions, first of the wonderful parties Ilissa has, and then of the castles and places Nora visits are wonderful. They really took me into a magical realm, where it seemed normal to heal by magic, to mend pots and things using magic, and to have transport made of sticks and feathers that could fly, doors in walls that were hidden and opened by witchcraft. The descriptions too of the differences between Wizards and Magicians and the spell books were fabulous. I felt as if I was there with Nora, learning as she learned, feeling all that she felt. Loved that, I like to get so absorbed in a story that I become part of it and swinging in the shade on my hammock in the garden yesterday that’s exactly what happened. I’ve always had a vivid imagination and enjoyed books about magic. As a child my mum used to try to persuade me to more practical books, rather than the fairies and magic I preferred, and I can recall a conversation with my father over why he couldn’t buy me a magic wand for Christmas. “They’re so expensive we couldn’t afford to buy presents for anyone else” “but dad, I could just magic them” Logic of a child 🙂 I was always being told off for having my head in the clouds, and getting board rubber thrown at me by teachers for daydreaming…well, fantasy was so much more interesting than the real world and still is to me at times….

Anyway, back to the story, there were some things that didn’t work so well for me. It took time for me to warm to Nora, at first she seems too anodyne, and I didn’t ever really warm to her as a person, which made it hard for me to empathise with her. I felt a bit detached and need to be almost one with the main characters to feel and worry about them even though its fiction…. Then the world of Ilissa; I know Nora was under many spells but I think we needed to have that reinforced a few times, because I began to get impatient with her when she just accepted everything. This was explained much better later by Aruendiel, and I understood more but it could have put me off earlier as I was soo “Nora, get a grip girl!!” and of course later I learned why she couldn’t, however if it wasn’t a review book I may have given up then, and missed out on a magical treat. It is a long book, and I love long novels but there is a lot in it that tends to drag a little that maybe could have been tightened. I guess for me its because I’m always looking for the romance, this isn’t marketed as a romance ( I think anyway ) but for some reason I expect one to develop. Maybe because of the one in the Harkness trilogy which is the cornerstone of those books. Anyway I was always looking for some developments between Nora and Arundiel – I suspect that he does want her but for whatever reason won’t allow himself, and its clear Nora at times has feeling for him.

The ending is somewhat opaque, it suggests to me that there will be another book and that may have the romance that I wanted but missed – who knows? I can’t find any references that say there’s a follow up, and this can easily be read as a stand alone but it just seems to me to hint at more to come – or perhaps its wishful thinking on my part, as I’d love Nora and Arundiel to get together and to be back in that magical world.

Overall a good read, and at £3.99 for a massive 572 pages its a bargain on my VFM scale.

Stars: four, I needed that romance 🙂 and a little more explanation of Nora earlier, and to make her more likeable. That would have made this a five star read for me but then we all need different things and I’m sure for others Emily has got this spot on.

Not Your Average Joe. Nell Carson.

Not Your Average Joe. Nell Carson.

ARC supplied by Netgalley.
I’m a sucker for a rags-to-riches type romance so this book sounded one I’d enjoy, and it was. Jennifer is a factory supervisor, living with her six year old son, and sharing the care with good friend and fellow worker and her young son. The factory has been selected for a reality show programme where a company boss works anonymously among the staff. Jennifers’ boss introduces a new trainee to her one morning, and she recognises him as the company CEO in disguise. She was at school with him, and he doesn’t know it but he’s the father of her son. She then realises the set up, but feels it will give her a chance to get to know him and see if he really is the arrogant playboy portrayed in the media, or whether he’s worthy of knowing he has a son. She wants what’s best for Chris, not a father that dips in and out of his life when it suits him. He doesn’t recognise her, after all she didn’t know at the time but found out very graphically that she was one of many….
Its a good set up, and I felt like Jennifer that at first he was just a stupid pampered burke. Some of his swinging statements about people were just what I feel those in his position really think sadly 😦 As the Native Americans say “ walk a month in a man’s shoes” or something along those lines, to see what his/her life is really like. Its easy to judge when you’ve never had to fight for something, whether is a roof over your head, food or paying the bills. Working alongside the others Jared/Jason got a real insight into the practicalities of life, and it was an experience that made him think more about the work, the workers and his own life. Underneath the arrogance was a good man, but shaped and prejudiced by his upbringing.
There were incidences on the factory floor that really happen, lack of maintenance, problems that take too long to fix, supplies that are needed but cost money and of course that old tradition of sexual harassment. Of course there’s laws against it but they’re expensive and hard to prove, and usually people need the job and money more than the hassle of dealing with it, so as Jennifer does they simply suck it up and try to work round it.
Jennifer was likable, strong person, working hard for a better life for her and Chris, Jared was arrogant at first, but learned such a lot about life and himself over his few days at the factory and the months following. Mandy, Jennifers best friend was a true friend, funny and supportive and played a big part in the final actions in the tale.
I loved this book, it was a sweet romance, with a fairly decent story to carry it. Having worked in similar positions I know what happened is what so often true…and that added to the reality of the story for me. Of course in real life Jared would probably remain a prick, and Jennifer would still be struggling but who wants to read that sort of reality? Not me, I want a HEA. There were moments of humour, moments of romance and some sad parts that had me feeling a little choked.
Overall its an enjoyable story, light and gentle, with some great funny moments (him indoors says he sees me smile when its a humorous novel) The romance was sweet, not whirlwind, breathtaking, heart-stopping but gentle and felt true.
Priced at £2.67 for 212 pages its in the lower end of my VFM scale – Its not one I’d re read, I enjoyed it as a one off but would need it to be richer, with stronger highs and lows to be a keeper. Sadly shorter books as this rarely get that depth, one reason I like longer books but for a quick escape for a few hours of romance and a HEA its perfect.
Stars: nice solid four.

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author