Unclaimed. Sara Humphreys.

Unclaimed: Amoveo Legend Series, Book 5 (The Amoveo Legend)

 

Unclaimed. Sara Humphreys.
Arc provided via Netgalley.

Fantasy – shape-shifters and romance – two of my big tick boxes 🙂
This is much like conventional shape shifters in the whole Mate idea, where there’s one predestined mate for everyone. The shape shifters though have a number of differences to what we often see, some can teleport, create things from imagination, speak mind to mind, have healing abilities etc. Some of these we’ve seen in other novels and some are now to the shifters. There’s also fighting factions – purists, who want to get rid of the half breeds, and humans who want to kill all the shifters. Trouble is with past treachery no-one is quite sure who is who – and to be honest at times I had the same problem…..
Given that Tatiana was so anti all things Amoveo she seemed to succumb very quickly – and Dominic, one minute wants his Mate, then as she’s against it so is he, then he shifts back to wanting it – all very confusing along with who was behind the horse sickness and the past problems they ad which still seemed to be active in some ways. It was at this point I did what I should have done before requesting and looked to see if this was part of a series – and it is, book five or so, and I realised if I’d read previous novels I’d have had a far better understanding of the world and the characters in it. My bad! Still, I managed to work out with some back and forth how everyone fitted in and had no clue about how it was all going to pan out. I do like a book that keeps me guessing and Unclaimed certainly did that. Some scorching sex scenes too – and I warmed to Tatiana eventually, she was a good person and I’d just found her absolute abhorrence of all things Amoveo hard to take given that her sister had found her mate and was very happy. I understood her background influence but she’s an adult now and surely the people who made her sister so happy deserved a bit of re thinking?
Some great characters once I understood more about them and their world, – loved the way they had a place to discuss things away from anyone snooping – very mysterious and provided a good answer to the question of how others with same abilities would be able to overhear them. That part was really magical and appealed to me. The fight scenes were pretty realistic, the sex scenes hot…but the overall plot – even though I didn’t guess who was involved – was a bit thin to me. There was lots of talk, some quick action and then it seemed all over.
From the reviews its clearly a series with a strong fan base, and I do love these sort of novels when they run to a series but for me its just a bit too simplistic, I need a bit more depth and darkness. Priced at £3.70 for 320 pages its a step up in price from previous novels – maybe its longer? I’ll check….nope, they’re all similar length. Maybe its a reflection on the series popularity – I’ve noticed this happen with other series, that they get more expensive as they gain readers 😦
Stars: four

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.