Hell on Wheels, A Bluewater Bay Novel, Z..A. Maxfield

Hell on Wheels (Bluewater Bay Book 3)

 

Hell on Wheels, A Bluewater Bay Novel, Z..A. Maxfield
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance, Gay and Lesbian.
I love the Bluewater Bay novels and it’s such fun having a series that’s written by different authors. Each book is a complete story but sometimes we meet characters from earlier books in another one. This idea of author collaboration works well I think – many of them have co-written other reads so they all have a style that will work together, and though the series could feel very disjointed it doesn’t – it feels fresh and I’m really enjoying it. Some authors feature more on the film set and the stars, others take the locals from the town of Bluewater Bay. This time we meet Spencer, who’s one of the stars of the film and Nash who runs a local business. The film connection is mostly in the background though, Spencer is one of the stars but we don’t see any of the set or actual filming.
Nash – oh Nash, what a great man he is. He’s got a lovable and crazy inventor father ( I love the saviour saver – or whatever it was called….), a twin brother and a disabled younger sister. His twin is away at college, dad has retired from the business and spends his time inventing more and more of those gadgets we don’t think we need but somehow end up with, and he makes good money from it. 15 year old Shelby has some serious health issues and is a wheelchair user, but the brothers and dad have done a great job and she’s very independent. I so sympathise with her when she says she feels invisible sometimes – that people see the wheelchair and not her – I’m also a chair user and that’s exactly how it is, people talk to whoever is with me as if I’m an idiot sometimes – or even more infuriating I get the “baby” voice and my head patted. One day I’m going to do the two fingered eye jab and scream!! Back to the book….now everyone is changing, growing up and becoming independent and Nash is beginning to feel he’s not needed any more, and is a bit lost.
Spencer, oh he’s great too – loyal and loving, and wants a traditional type marriage, yet his husband has left him for a woman. His ex is a real jerk, and the lady involved is a real b itch. They provided some great moments of drama and I do love that, someone nasty to mentally boo and hiss at. If its all sweetness and light its boring! I love Spencer’s very British curses, B ollocks and A rse, so familiar!
Nash comes across Spencer waiting for a tow truck just outside town and keeps him company. He’s not one of the big fans of the series, doesn’t really get into all the celebrity cult worship though his younger sister adores the series, especially Spencer. He can see Spencer is unhappy and carrying some anger and they chat, get along well and soon become good friends – and maybe a bit more. Nash tries to tell himself Spencer’s only there to film his part and then he’s off, but the heart doesn’t listen to the head does it? They’re feeling their way, getting closer and then – bam – The Ex comes out with a very public, very grand ( and very funny, though unintended on his part) gesture. Poor Nash, he’d been kidding himself he’d got his feelings under control, and when he sees this he’s convinced Spencer will take Peter back and forget him. I do love the sad parts…and I really felt for poor Nash when this happened.
Its another great read from Bluewater, and I love the way we saw the whole family, loved Spencers team of Tick and Bast, and the way they all felt like real people. As I’ve said I could identify with Shelby and her part was very true to life. So often authors throw in a disability without ever really researching the realities of it but this time it was very realistic.
Stars: Five, loved it and a perfect ending.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

