Branded, Colette Auclair

 

Branded (The Aspen Valley Series)

Branded, Colette Auclair
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance, Contemporary.
I loved the first book in this series, but book two was let down for me by the female lead, Beth – I just didn’t take to her. We meet her again here, with husband Finn  and her new baby. I found maybe marriage has mellowed her as I liked her so much more! It was great too to catch up with the wonderful Amanda and Grady, and of course Harris and his cocktails….It was the drama in book one that was the icing for me on a great read – the five star part – when Grady was a first class prick – and led to such sadness from Amanda ( he redeemed himself though – and that’s just what I love in a book) Though I enjoyed this read it didn’t quite have that deep drama for me, so book one is still my favourite.
Cordy, I liked her, had the idea that maybe she was hiding the truth, but she’s so closed in nature its hard to see what she really feels. Jack on the other hand is so open he’s almost a heart on sleeve character. A real Southern gentleman, and I’m cross I can’t remember meeting him before – how could I have missed such a fabulous man? He seems to know just what Cordy needs, and when That scene, you will know when you read which part I mean – the one that’s so heart-breaking, hits he was just so perfect with what he did to help Cordy get through it. Its a great story, turned round from the usual where a couple meet and work there way up to sex, here Cordy and Jack meet and are very quickly flirting and more, and then after the magical weekend they need to get to know each other better…it was fun this way round, and lead to some steamy and sensual scenes. When the sh it hits the fan though it really does, and I was rooting for things to go right. I’d have liked just that bit more seeing how they were coping individually then, I need to see them sad, heartbroken, so I can wallow with them, but we seemed to get it via a retrospective glance back after some time had elapsed. It was a “good” sad, but but not quite up with Grady’s prick move!
Stars: Four, A great read, loved catching up with the progress of the others and seeing things like the rescue centre up and running. As a horse lover it played on my all things equine button, and gave me a reading fix that way too. Beth’s ethos mirrors mine, I hate cruelty, and the way horses get passed on all the while. Cordy did say she’d always taken pains to ensure the right homes for hers when they were sold which is good, but for me I knew once I had my horse( s) they’d be with me for life so choosing was a really careful thing.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

