Marked, Zanetti, Rebecca

 

Marked, Zanetti, Rebecca
Review from jeannie zelos book reviews
When I think back to the beginning, when the characters were a small group and so many had yet to join them, I realise how far this series has gone. I’m sad to see the end of it ( but of course there’s the potential for more from the next generation…) but I’m glad too – so often authors pull extra books from a popular series, and it just doesn’t work. Stop at the top and that’s what Rebecca has done here, and it leaves us with a series where each book is genuine, a good read and not a padded out extra.
The danger they’ve been battling throughout the series is coming to a head, and the whole world itself is threatened. Though this book focuses on Janie and Zane, there are updates on everyone else too and we see the whole group involved in the struggle for peace.
All the Supernaturals are in peace talks, and as a human Janie is vulnerable – she knows she needs to be there but her parents aren’t happy. As the Chosen One though she sees it as her duty to attend and insists. Its difficult getting heads/ representatives of the various groups together, and very dangerous – who know who will stick to their word and who will seize the opportunity to forge ahead. Zane gets word through his sources that the Demons are planning an attack on Janie. He’s part Demon, nephew of the current leader and expected to take part in her demise. His uncle wants her dead, and expects Zane to obey him.  Zane’s known her through their shared dreams all her life, but now they’re meeting for real and she’s in danger of her life. Zane isn’t having that so takes steps to save her, putting his brothers and mother in danger so he needs to move swiftly to save them too at cost to himself.
Its a real adventure book, where they face danger after danger, and the attacks come not just singly but against all of them, and its a race against time to save everyone. I didn’t really enjoy some of this part, I’m not really happy about people getting skills/finding out essential info (it’s hard to explain without giving things away) just at the crucial moment. I don’t mind the occasional time, but it seems too frequent in this book for me. That’s a small crit though, the rest as always races along, and of course has the usual hot and steamy sex scenes. Zane and Janie together are –wow- perfect. I kind of feel sorry for Kalin, I know he’s cruel, kills for fun etc, and yet when we’ve seen him in the dream world we’ve seen a different side to him, and he honestly believes he and Janie should be together. I sort of get the feeling love and kindness haven’t featured much in his life, and that reflects in the person he’s become. Zane hasn’t had much love and kindness either though, and he’s become someone who’s a killer when its needed but doesn’t do it for fun, and has a real tender side.
I enjoyed this episode, it tied everything off neatly and some parts (Kalin) actually had me with a lump in my throat…after all the build up it was a perfect ending, leaving me knowing how everyone had fared. Sometimes series end and I think “ what about xyz?” but everyone I can think of is accounted for here and that way I feel satisfied.
Stars: Four and a half, dropped half for those last minute extra powers that I don’t like
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

