Mortal Fire C F Dunn

 

Mortal Fire C F Dunn
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance, Paranormal, Mystery

When I first had this book for review I really couldn’t get on with it and gave it two stars. I think as I’d recently finisher the Discovery of Witches trilogy I was making too many comparisons, both have heroines with the Oxbridge/UK/US connections, both are similar age and historians, both stories centre around a mysterious book, and both male leads are clearly not human and called Matthew. Somehow though this book kept nagging away at me and I added it to my TBR list to have another try. Well, finally having emptied my review list and started on the TBR I got to this a couple of days ago.

Coming to it fresh, starting again at the beginning it seemed like a very different read to the one I remembered. Emma is still a bit odd at times, but then knowing more of her history as the book continues I feel I understand her more. Elena and Matthias, colleagues who become good friends are interesting, Matthew is introduced fairly early and we can already see that he’s different, that he’s hiding something. Then there’s Sam, another colleague who’s like an overgrown puppy in his OTT enthusiasm, but though Emma tells him she’s not interested in more than just a friendship he seems to take that as a challenge. We learn more about her history, and why she isn’t interested in dating too, but Sam seems to keep pressing in a way that’s hard to shut down without being offensive. Then there’s Staahl, he’s very scary right from the first meeting, and to me its clear he’s sinister and possibly also not human. As to what he and Matthew are though – well Matthew isn’t vampire if we use the usual stay out of sunlight, drink blood stuff. He’s always around during the day and though he doesn’t appear to actually eat its hard to see as its cleverly done and could be missed, and also there’s no indications he’s a blood drinker. So what could he be? Dunno, Staahl’s also a puzzle, I’m guessing from his description that he’s something anti Matthew’s type – whatever that is, in the way that vampires and werewolves are traditional enemies. If we think Matthew is some kind of vampire type supernatural, some kind of mutation, with his speed and super strength, then maybe Staahl is something on the werewolf spectrum, he just seems to fit that description somehow to me. Still, that’s all speculation on my part.

Where the two series differ too is that Discovery is very book centred, with magic flowing outwards and encompassing Witches, Vampires and Daemons, and time travel to past and back. Mortal Fire though is more people centred, smaller cast of characters and more Emma and Matthew focussed. I love the way its working out. I’m so glad I picked it up and tried again – in fact usually I don’t read next part until I’ve reviewed the current book, but this had me so engrossed I had to buy parts two and three, and am now halfway through book three – seems there’s a fourth to come – soon I hope! There’s some real heartbreak towards the end of this book, just when they seem to finally be admitting how much they mean to each other, and through a series of miscommunications it looks like it could be all over for them. I was really gutted at that, like Emma I felt so sad – she’s distraught to the point that back in UK with her family they are concerned about her mental stability. Emma, being the historian she is, and curious can see that Matthew is hiding something and she hates lies after her experience with a former lover, and starts to do her own research on him, and comes up with some fantastical findings. Luckily though C F Dunn doesn’t leave us hanging but gives us an ending that wraps up part one and introduces where the story is to go next.
Its an amazing read, more solid romance ( though very subtle – not all heavy breathing and sexual lusting, just some glances, some touches and a slow progression from there ) than supernatural read in a way, no magic and spells, simply a mystery over what Matthew really is, and possibly Staahl too.

Stars: Five, its a great solid read, fabulous mystery and my changed view shows how important it can be to be in the right mindset for certain books.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

