Ascension, The Gates Legacy Book 3, Lorenz Font

Ascension, The Gates Legacy Book 3, Lorenz Font
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
I struggled with this series to begin, but soon came to love the characters and the plots. It’s become far easier to follow now I’ve got a clear hook on who is who and how they fit into the story, and I think its that two strands part, with the Tack/Harrow group on one side and Goran and Co on the other with independent vampires, and humans in the middle that had me confused. Now its less blurred, the battle lines have been drawn and I’m gripped by the story. Everyone likes to think good prevails and yet Goran has been in power for decades…centuries even I think, so how does that work? His ego grows exponentially with each cold blooded murder he plans, and it seems no one or nothing can stop his power crazed frenzy. The battles between him and Harrow’s group so far have caused great losses on both sides, and the latest sees Harrow once again reforming what’s left of the group, and seeking yet another new sanctuary for them. Thankfully Tack left them in a very strong financial position and money always smooths the way past most problems like that.
Rohnert has been there from the start, a quiet, enigmatic vampire, he’s a warrior and a pureblood. He left Harrow and the group in the last book, after giving in to his feelings for human nurse Shelley, as he felt he’d bring her into danger and she deserved better. Something happens though that brings him back into her life to try to keep her out of danger. I’ve always had a soft spot for Rohnert – one of the few pure blood originals left, he’s the opposite of everything Goran stands for, selfless, moral and understanding and on the side of Right not Might. He’s let tradition and timing stop him from doing anything about Goran thus far, plus of course he doesn’t want to be the one to take his place as leader, that’s not his ambition, but now it may be time to challenge the old ways and make a stand. He can’t do it alone, and though Harrow has a solid, well trained crew they’re few in number compared to the resources Goran has.
Shelley, she’s quite abrasive, no nonsense, and one of those who’ll always do what’s right at whatever cost to herself. We see an example of it here where she dives into danger to save two of the group, despite being safe where she was. I like her no nonsense attitude, and her independence, and in fact she and Rohnert would match well together if he’d just stop being a martyr about it! He needs someone strong, not afraid to challenge him and stand up for herself, not some simpering, helpless female.  Can he pull himself together though – and will Shelley let him after he rejected her so callously?
Well, all that’s part of the story along with a huge surprise for Harrows group, more battles and losses and regrouping. I wonder just how Harrow manages to keep going sometimes, when they seem to take hit after hit after hit but he does, with fortitude and cheer. We meet more of the Elders, and both the vampire Shaman and Seer too in this book. They were interesting – how much is fate v free will, how much is prophecy and how much do they have to do with shaping it? I can’t help wondering if they shape events to fit, or whether they watch and just step in to help sometimes….
Lorenz isn’t afraid to kill off key characters, as we saw when Pritchard died and there’s another great loss in this book….that was so, so sad but ever the optimist and this being fantasy where anything can happen, I’m hoping the Shaman can pull something out of a hat somehow  I hate losing loved characters.
Once again its a great read, my favourite so far though whether that’s because the story is any better, or whether I now just understand it better is debateable!! Its why I like to re read series, I find I pick up more from second and subsequent reads that I missed first time round.
Stars: Its a great read, just short of the five, a four and a half from me. I’m really needing book four now though!
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Ascension, The Gates Legacy Book 3, Lorenz Font”

  1. WyndyDee says :

    Reblogged this on Wyndy Dee and commented:
    Thanks for participating!

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

