The Catching Kind, Brew Ha Ha 3, Caitie Quinn


 
The Catching Kind, Brew Ha Ha 3, Caitie Quinn
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance.
I’ve not read the first two books in this series but I like romance that’s married with fame, where the pressures of the media get involved so I wanted to try this. Gives me something to get cross about! I don’t read magazines or newspapers, don’t watch TV ( read what I need to know online) so the reality cult of celebs misses me…..I get so cross that people’s lives are invaded just because they are “famous” and news outlets trot out that “ the public have a right to know..” – when all they want is more sales, more viewers and truth be dammed. So when it pops up in a book I know its going to spark strong emotions in me and I’ll feel for the person involved, and books like that, where I feel personally invested, are the ones that work best for me.
Hailey, top selling YA author, I loved her. She’s one of those people everyone needs to know, solid, loyal and looks after her friends. They were a great group too – and I loved the advice they gave her and the way they told Connor in no uncertain terms to look after her. He was a great lead, and at first meeting with Hailey, like her I thought he was a real jerk. Rude, arrogant and self serving…and his comments to her were so hurtful! So when she found out what had been cooked up by his and her agents – something involving media attention on her she was horrified. So was he just to be clear – but he does explain his initial nastiness later, and once we get to know the real Connor he’s actually a really nice guy.
There were some really funny moments, and great dialogue between the two – the “shall we get a dog” conversation was just one of several things that made me smile. Hailey’s comments to the fashion editor woman at the party was another – she’s made light of Hailey’s job, and Hailey had a great comeback. The bits like that fitted the story so well, and allowed us to see Connor was more than made out to be via the media. He’s made mistakes and owned up to them but much of his image was simply put together from snapshots moments taken at the wrong time, and lies spread about in the right ear…that’s my media problem summed up! But it does make for a great story.
I loved the way there was a slow progression from that initial dislike on both sides, to them respecting each other and getting closer, and that they argue, its not one of those insta love, jumping into bed at the second chapter type reads – in fact they don’t even kiss til almost the end, and yet the attraction between them is clear to everyone except themselves. Hailey sees what’s happening to her and tries to protect herself, but I get the feeling Connor didn’t realise what they had til their agreement ended, and he was back in his much loved old life and found that actually it wasn’t all that…
Its a really fun read, full of wit and funny moments, but I did feel the sad bit – when their agreement came to an end – didn’t quite have the five star angst I wanted. Still, its a solid four star fun read.
Stars: Four, its a great solid read,  a lovely story, though one I’m unlikely to re read.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

