The Farther I Fall, Lisa Nicholas

The Farther I Fall, Lisa Nicholas
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Contemporary romance, suspense.

Its always interesting when you’re reading a debut book, where the author’s writing style is totally unknown. I really enjoyed this read, and feel Lisa has a strong future in fiction. There were a couple of irritants, some general and some a more personal issue, but on the whole this was a solid, fun and sexy read.
Gwen – I liked her. she’s tough – been an army medic and is recuperating from her injuries. She doesn’t take any nonsense, and her little sister needs someone tough to look after her top rock star signing. He’s fresh out of rehab, for the third time and the top execs are nervous about his upcoming tour.
I’m not hooked on military reads, tending to avoid them but it works for me here because that’s really in the background, as Gwen’s history mainly. I do like rock star romances, and the fact they were touring adds a fun flavour to this novel and makes it feel more real to me. It was interesting having characters in their thirties for a change ( hurrah), as the romance genre does seem to get dominated by younger characters and its good to have older participants we can more easily identify with. I liked Gwen’s no nonsense, control stance, but did feel her PTSD, that was giving her severe headahces before the tour, seemed to go very quickly. It seemed her sister felt they were nightly and severe, whereas once on tour they were minimal and occasional…I’d have liked to see that balanced better. Likewise Lucas drug addiction – its his third time in rehab, and though he gave reasons for why he feels differently this time he didn’t seem to have any real probelms staying away apart from one incident, and I’d have thought that might have been harder – but I know nothing in reality of drug addiction or PTSD so could be wrong on both counts!
Lucas, he was a fun character –I loved the banter between him and Gwen, their special connection right from the start, and the way the others supporting him were so close. It was almost like they were a sort of family unit, but I guess being so closely connected for weeks hot housed any problems, and like a family they had to deal with them quickly as they couldn’t be avoided by distance. I did like the way Lucas was happy to give control to Gwen at times, when it came to sex. Usually I like the reverse, with a strong and dominant male lead, and wouldn’t have thought I’d like it this way round, but it fitted well with both characters and the backgrounds they had and worked well. Surprised me and shows its good to step out of comfort zone in reading. I loved Lucas brother too, and see he’s got a book coming out, and I’ll be looking out for that. I would have liked to know more about his family problems, it’s clear something big was behind his staying away so many years, and maybe the next book will reveal more? I just hate having things waved under my nose, my appetite to know more whetted, and then being left hanging….
The romance part, that worked well for me, though I would have liked a bit more build up, a bit more tension before they got together but once they did it was hot and sensual, without taking over the story.  Sometimes reads become more sex than story and I need that balance, that the sex scenes are part of the story and not The story. It was perfect here. When it came to the suspense it wasn’t a heavily dominant  thriller type suspense, but one where the suspense was just another angle to the romance side. I prefer that too – I used to read thrillers all the while, but now prefer reads that are lighter in that area. The dangers slowly build up and TBH I’d guessed fairly soon who was behind it all,but there were things that happened that I really didn’t expect and that was fun. Overall its made for a fun, sensual romantic read, with some real tension, and a satisfying climax.
Stars: Four and a half, one I really enjoyed and a great debut read.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

