No Place That Far, L. A. Witt and Aleksandr Voinov

No Place That Far, L. A. Witt and Aleksandr Voinov
Review from jeannie zelos book reviews
Genre: GLBT romance
Well, I love the books these two authors write together so was keen to read this one. It didn’t have the same pull on me as their books usually do though, it was a good read but not one I’d reread.
Marcus was a nice man, no really strong characteristics that stand out, but he was still recovering from his divorce. Somehow a beautiful love story in the beginning turned sour, very sour, and though they’ve parted he’s still cynical about love. Its one night stands only for him he decides. I feel he’s very mentally shaken by what went wrong, and bitter about the loss of the fabulous career opportunity he gave up for his ex. A great chef, he’s now doing bar work, and gone from a fabulous home to a tiny rented apartment. He needs time though, and the bar work at least gives him good friends while he adapts. Then at the wedding reception he spots Timur, who makes it clear he’s in for whatever Marcus wants…
Timur – he’s hot! Friend of Julian from the Foreign Legion he’s got a month off before he signs up for his final five years. That will be fifteen for him and a decent retirement pot – if he survives of course! Its a very dangerous profession. He’s just what Marcus needs right now, and they have their one night of hot and steamy sex. Somehow though that one night turns into two, and then more, til Marcus has done what he thought was impossible and fallen in love. He doesn’t want Timur to leave, and yet how can he ask him to give up his dreams in the way Marcus did, and later resented his lover for it. He’s facing a choice between heartbreak now or being hated later…Tough one. I liked Timur, dry, clever humour, his language problems stripped everything down to bare essentials and allowed Marcus to just “be”, not to over think or brood, to just have fun and live in the moment, til it got to the part where their friends were back from honeymoon, and there were only a few days left. That brought him back to reality with a bump. As a sexy interlude too there’s some hot action with the newly weds!
On the surface its everything I liked, characters I could feel for, and a story that could be happy or heartbreak. So what was my problem? As always its a personal one. I had trouble with the endless “husband” wordings – it seemed every time someone was being introduced, talked about or thought about the Husband tag was added. I don’t say to a friend “ sorry I didn’t get to meet your wife/husband” I’d say “sorry I didn’t get to meet Amy/David”, and when talking about others I’d say the name, or maybe call them The Ex. Maybe its different in gay marriages, but it just seemed overused and felt forced to me. Spoiled the flow of the story when my irritation crept in. The other big problem I had was the lack of drama, it was there, but was so quickly over I felt that I almost missed it, and sadly I’m one that likes to wallow in it, to feel a bit tearful, and I just didn’t get the chance this time. Still, as ever its just my view and other than these two issues it was a good read.
Stars: Three and a half. A one off read for me
ARC supplied by publishers and Netgalley.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

