Too Hot to Handle, The Boys of Summer, Katie Rose.

Too Hot to Handle: A Boys of Summer Novel (The Boys of Summer)

 

Too Hot to Handle, The Boys of Summer, Katie Rose.
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Despite not being a sports lover I’ve read some fun baseball reads, although it’s not a common sport here in the UK. This novel was fun but I couldn’t really relate well to either lead character, and I need to do that to really get into the story.
Nikki was the new PR rep for the Sonics, a baseball team suffering from image problems. I did feel for her attempts at first when the team were so anti whatever she suggested, and not working with her. You’d think they’d want to improve their chances of success, but they were still just acting like juvenile schoolboys, being horribly negative and treating her like a spoilsport parent.  She was good at her job and I liked her approach, especially the barbers in bikinis! Despite some of her approaches having a positive response though the team as a whole were still working against her, and I think if I was here I’d have said to them “ do you want to succeed or not?”, and make them see how badly they were harming their careers. Jake was one of their star players and the team tended to follow his lead. He was attracted to Nikki, but she was a more serious type and he’s the total opposite, the fun loving playboy type, different girl every time, and with his own set of groupies who follow him around hoping for a night with him. Nikki is attracted to him, but doesn’t want to get involved with a man who she knows will drop her soon as someone better comes along.
Jake works on her though and slowly wears her down. I loved the heat when they were together, that was very realistic feeling and showed a different side to Jake than the public one everyone knew, and when it all went wrong I was saddened for her and for him. He needed to think about what he really wanted and the advice his caoch gave was spot on. It’s too easy to lose sight of what’s really important, to miss that chance and never get another. Poor Nikki though, after hearing that she must have felt awful, humiliated, devastated and be lost as to what to do next. I do like a scene like that, especially when it’s drawn out the way it was here, not quickly over as so often happens. For example page xx2 the breakup – page xx4 they’re together again – that happens too often and the drama loses impact, but treated as it is here its reaches full potential, and that part of the book worked well for me.
Overall though I didn’t really get to feel “into” the story, to really feel part of it and not just an onlooker. I could see the  attraction starting, but didn’t feel it was inevitable, that Nikki just couldn’t stand out and they seemed to get together so quickly considering her stance on not getting involved. I thought he’d need to work harder.
Stars: Three – it was a good story, well written but just didn’t make a solid connection for me.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

One response to “Too Hot to Handle, The Boys of Summer, Katie Rose.”

  1. kiltsandswords says :

    I like contemporary novels with sports figures! This was a good book, but didn’t blow me away!

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

