Hungry Like the Wolf, Paige Tyler

 

Hungry Like the Wolf, Paige Tyler
review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Well, I’d read a couple of Paige’s books before, one of which didn’t work for me, but that was zombies and that’s a personal hang-up – I simply avoid them now. The other was fine, a decent read but not a great one for me so I thought one more try. This one was very good, I really enjoyed it although I did find the start a bit slow. I like to jump right in to the action but not everyone writes that way – and that’s good as not everyone wants to read like that either!
Anyway Mackenzie (Mac) is a journalist – not a reporter as she takes pains to remind everyone. She likes to stalk out her stories, root out the corruption and show the world the real truth. She’s very black or white about that – Truth is a big thing for her, and she thinks the public deserve it. She and I part ways here, I’ve seen “ the public have a right to know” used as an excuse for too many personal infringements, when all that’s really of interest is bumping up sales….not that I support cover ups, but there’s a grey area that needs to be recognised. Here if she finds out and reveals the truth about the SWAT team, then it will cause chaos. Witch hunts, accusations of monsters, and scientists demanding rights to slice and dice in the name of research…Humans always pick on minorities, and fear what they don’t understand and poor Gage and his Pack have a fine line to tread, doing what they love and believe in without discovery.
Paige has taken a different turn with werewolves, hers aren’t created through bites but some kind of gene that’s brought on by dangerous and stressful situations. That means when Gage first turned he knew nothing, and needed to learn fast. Once he worked it out he sought out others, and created his Pack. Some of the younger wolves believe in the mystery of The One, the person that’s a perfect match for a werewolf, and given how strong the attraction is between Gage and Mac they want to belie she’s his One. He’s not so sure though, he thinks its probably a myth but some of them need to believe, and I can understand that. When most people would view them as monsters they need something positive to hope for.
Gage and Mac get closer, very much closer and are soon in a torrid and erotic affair, but Gage has killed the son of a dangerous and powerful crime lord.  Although he saved lives and the man was in the wrong his dad is out for revenge, and that brings Gage and Mac into some serious danger.
Its a great read, feels real, the sex scenes are sensual and seductive, but very physical and carnal as you’d expect from a werewolf, and the danger is climatic, heart stopping and it feels like they could easily end up dead. Sometimes these scenes are written in such a way that the danger never feels real, but here I was racing through pages to see how they’d escape.
Stars: four and a half – a really fun and realistic read.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

