Non-Stop ‘Till Tokyo, KJ Charles

Non-Stop Till Tokyo

Non-Stop ‘Till Tokyo, KJ Charles
Genre: Romance
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
I love KJ Charles Magpie series, read all of them so far and they are in my keepers files, so I was keen to see how she would do with this very different romance. They are gentle historical, fantasy, M/M romances and this one is a contemporary suspense type romance. Two very different styles and yet I could get the same feeling of reality, characters I enjoyed and felt were genuine, and the setting once again felt real to me even though I’ve never been to Japan. The dialogue is sprinkled every now and then with Japanese words but from the context we know what they mean. It adds to the foreign country feel of the story, and I love the way the cultural nuances, the way the Japanese are very polite even when they are actually very angry, are explained. It made me feel as if I was there with the characters.
Its a story that starts gently with linguist Kerry using her skills in a high end bar, where she earns a good salary for just chatting and being friendly with bored, stressed businessmen. They just want someone to listen to them, to sympathise and sound intelligent – its nothing more than that, no seamy prostitution, though if the girls want to do that they take it elsewhere. Its from one doing exactly that which ends Kerry in the muddle she’s in. The Yakuza are after her, convinced she knows something or has something they want after one of the Brothers is murdered….and they aren’t the type who will sympathise if she says “sorry, it wasn’t me”!!
Kerry ends up on the run, escaping them by the skin of her teeth. One of her friends gets her someone to help, but Chanko has secrets of his own, and he sees Kerry as some ditzy, stupid prostitute that’s using her friends to get her out of a mess. Slowly though he comes to respect her, when the dangers heat up and she doesn’t shy ways from them in an effort to help her friends.
I really enjoyed this book. Its got for me the perfect blend of romance and suspense, not so little that its dull, not so much that i feel I’m swamped with info and can’t follow the story. Its a mystery that gradually unfolds, bringing them all more and more into danger. It got to the point where i just couldn’t’ see how the author could get them home free, out of danger, I couldn’t see what more they could do – and then they manage to turn things to their own side, and some changes happen that work with them, not against them as they have so far. Its masterfully done, and I was happy to be along for the ride, to see just how they managed to pull themselves out of the mire that they’d been thrown in. I love Kerry’s interaction with the Korean boss Park! Then for me there’s the perfect ending, a brief epilogue tying up any loose ends and telling me where everyone currently stands in the story. Very satisfying that part, I hate to be left wondering what happens next.
Stars: Five, a really fun read and one that kept me gripped. .
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

