Drawing Lessons, Julia Gabriel

 

Drawing Lessons, Julia Gabriel
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance.
Well, I told myself “ no more books Jeannie, not til that list is down” but….the cover on this caught my eye. I’m an artist too as well as a reader, and it just drew me in. I rarely look at covers ( except to avoid any with Barbie pink and swirly gold writing!) but somehow this book wouldn’t leave me, and eventually I gave in and clicked “request”. I am so glad I did!!
It’s one of those romances that start slowly, where the reader can see what they think is going on and is urging action – and it doesn’t happen. Julia taunts us with promises of what could be, and then we get a second chance when the scene is set up once again. Its  fabulous, perfect pacing, realistic romance and characters and a gripping read. First we’re taken along an art journey with Marie and Luc where his teaching methods are at times very… unusual….and at others very realistic. “Draw what you see not what you think you see” is something all students hear at some point. Then her other life, the one where she’s still a Senators wife, intrudes. Her pushy parents want a reconciliation, despite her telling them she doesn’t, how unhappy she was etc. etc. They really are cold people. Poor Julia and thank goodness she had such a great friend in Nishi. No wonder she blossomed under Luc’s warmth and attention – though there was more to their relationship than that, its easy to see how she was in the mind to need someone like him. He’s a real romance hero, good looking, wonderful accent, and of course so full of fabulous and sensual ideas. He’s got a dark past too, and was just perfect in his role. I loved him – who wouldn’t.
Just when all’s going well, when she’s basking in Luc’s love the bomb drops, with Richard calling off the divorce. Her parents are ecstatic, she’s commanded to drop Luc by Richard, and the family move everything to get her back into position. Her love and relationship with Luc is passed off as a fling, and she’s dressed up and trotted out for the cameras. She’s trapped, can’t see a way out – she can’t just leave as Richard has shown her through some very dangerous ways that she’s vulnerable, and that he can ruin Luc too. The hallways of Power really are dirty and coming from that background she knows how easy it is to get dirty deeds covered up. How can she leave Luc, but then how can she not when she’s risking his life and career.
Its a wonderful read, full of romance and emotion, drama, power plays, and so so believable. One of those that has the reader pondering what they would do, and thinking of ways for Beth to escape ( well that’s me anyway!) Its easy to say Beth should stand up to them but she’s been the dutiful daughter, the dutiful wife for so long and they hold all the aces. She’s trapped and distraught and I wanted to cry with her. Then there’s a sliver of light, a glimmer of hope….
Just when I was able to breathe a sigh of relief and relax for them, Julia gives an intro to the next book and …dammit… I NEED that one now!
Stars: Five, an incredibly moving and realistic romance and one to savour and re read.
ARC supplied via Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

