Thoughtful, S. C. Stephens

‘From page one, this book is impossible to put down’
ABBI GLINES, New York Times bestselling author on THOUGHTLESS
‘Wildly addictive, beautifully written, and uniquely captivating’
TRACEY GARVIS-GRAVES, New York Times bestselling author on THOUGHTLESS
Thoughtful
S. C. STEPHENS

Published 24th February 2015
Available as a paperback and eBook

It’s time for Kellan Kyle, the rockstar who captured our hearts in Thoughtless, to tell his side of the story.

The only place Kellan has ever felt at home is on stage. Gripping his guitar in a darkened bar, he can forget his painful past. These days his life revolves around his music and his band mates, and that’s the way he likes it. And then one woman changes everything . . .
Kiera is the kind of girl Kellan has no business wanting – she’s smart, sweet, and dating his best friend. Certain he could never be worthy of her love, he hides his growing attraction . . . until Kiera’s own tormented heart hints that his feelings might not be one-sided. Now, no matter the consequences, Kellan is sure of one thing: he won’t let Kiera go without a fight.
‘What happens when you find your soul mate at the worst possible time, in the least expected place? What if being with that person means doing the most wrong thing you’ve ever done?
[It] leaves you thinking about these questions, the characters and their choices for days if not weeks after reading.’
TAMMARA WEBBER, New York Times bestselling author on THOUGHTLESS

My Review

Genre:NA, Contemporary romance

Thoughtless and the follow ups were among the first NA reads I found, and I loved them. I don’t like cheating, and yet in some books it creates a fabulous drama and we see just how the characters end up in situations they never intended to – they hurt those they love through their actions, and yet somehow we can’t see what else they could do given the circumstances – except not do it of course, and then we’d be lacking a book! So cheating written like this works for me,even though in real life its one of my big No, nos. I’ve read alternate POV books before, some of which worked well and some which have been for me disasters and was curious to how this one would work out.

Kellen, who couldn’t love him, and yet when I read the story from Kiera’s POV I held him much more responsible. Through his eyes though I’ve looked at the story in a totally different way. Even knowing what happens and when it’s still fresh, unique in that I see his actions in a very different way now I know his story and background more fully. My heart ached for him at times, he was just so lonely and alone. I loved the way Matt told him the band was his family – he needed to know that too. Kiera, I saw her in a different light, even though Kellen adores her I was getting annoyed at her swaying between them, not letting him leave when it was so clear staying was hurting him. Somehow in the first book I sympathised more with her, and yet here when I see how her actions are destroying Kellen and taking them so close to the edge I got really annoyed at her selfishness. Then when she just keeps on asking for more time –  I know she loves Denny too and needed it, and yet it was so hard for Kellen to play second place all the while when he already had such low self esteem.

Even though I knew what happened after the big fight it still shocked me, and I understood why Kellen took the decision he did – he needed that certainty. It made for a perfect ending, one still filled with drama and excitement, one where I still kept holding my breath waiting for things to Finally – finally go right for them. I felt for poor Denny all the way through – he was just so so oblivious til the end and then so broken….I’m glad things finally picked up for him too.

This is one of the alternate POV that works – I still prefer them to run concurrently in a novel, but of course this was a readers request after thought so that couldn’t happen. Its great to see though how SC Stephens manages to inject it with fresh material, to keep the reader gripped even knowing the story, and where it goes. I’m one of those readers who love to re read books, finding things I missed first time round knowing the ending, and this book works like that – there are things that I recall on reading and yet missed the relevance first time round. Its a lovely looong novel too at 560 pages ( over 8,000 locations on kindle) and that’s a real treat in this time when it seems books are getting shorter and shorter and divided into sections. A whole story, full of drama, emotion and beautiful romance this shows just how fabulous the NA genre can be when done well – even for people like me who are well past the NA age group!! It could be read and enjoyed IMO even if you’ve not read the first books.

Stars: Five, a fabulous read, one of the few alternate POV reads that not only works for me but is a real gem.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.
S.C. Stephens is a New York Times #1 bestselling author who spends her every free moment creating stories that are packed with emotion and heavy on romance. In addition to writing, she enjoys spending lazy afternoons in the sun reading, listening to music, watching movies,
and spending time with her friends and family. She lives in Washington State with her two children.

Follow her on Twitter @SC_Stephens_
For more information please contact Clara Diaz on
020 7911 8962 | clara.diaz@littlebrown.co.uk | @ClaraHDiaz

BLOG TOUR POSTER WEEK 2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

