Archive | March 6, 2015

Fix You, Beck Anderson

 

Fix You, Beck Anderson
Genre:  Contemporary romance.
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
It’s odd how sometimes books seem to come along at the same time that share a theme. This is the second one I’ve had in the last couple of weeks that feature life after death, how to find love again as a widow with children. Its tough when you’re older finding love, but when you’ve got kids it’s even harder. You’re not just a woman but part of a package deal and many men ( or vice versa in the case of widowers) can’t cope with someone else’s children.
Its a hard theme to choose too – how to make love number two feel good, while still showing the reader the strength of emotion the person had with a previous love. Of course there’s also that Death sanctifies deal as I like to think of it, where once someone has died they become almost deified…their faults forgotten, and only the good times remembered. But no-one is perfect, even the dead, and the chance for a new love needs grasping or it’s a long lonely life in store.
I love the film/rock star/rich guy theme  too….so this seemed like the perfect read for me. Its got a twist too – unusual one in that Andrew is 7 years younger than Kelly, and sometimes for her that seems more, when she factors in her life experience, bringing up kids, nursing her dying husband, and while Andrew isn’t without his own demons, as a single person he’s free to indulge in life’s excesses to try to avoid them. When things are hard for Kelly she has to deal with them, can just set them aside for later.
The characters are great but…I did get a bit irritated with Andrew sometimes, when he seemed younger than his years, and then he’d do something so lovely it’d make me fall in live with him all over again. He was so nice to begin, so loving and caring, not pushing Kelly but letting her set the pace, understanding of her concerns, and then when they were back on his home ground, when he was filming or doing the publicity parties etc. he seemed so different  and I really felt for Kelly. She was literally like a fish out of water, didn’t enjoy parties first time round as a teen, – I’m with her, I always felt an outsider, awkward, not knowing how to do the social niceties.
It was good seeing them with Kelly’s kids, being natural and at those points I could feel the love, but then when Andrew needed to go back he changed. Later I understood his demons, and that he’d repressed them and slowly I got the point that though Kelly thought she was coping she was just running too, and just dealing in a different way to Andrew. I so wanted them to find a way to be together, but they seemed to grow further apart and I just couldn’t see how they’d make it – but that’s why Beck’s the author and not me and she cleverly brings round that turnabout that I needed, in a way that made me believe it.
Its a great read, but for me a one off, I did need Andrew to grow up a bit and Kelly to be a bit more allowing, letting herself relax more. I wasn’t quite convinced they’d get through for long love even though they seemed to be getting there. The kids were perfect and I just loved Hunter. As a parent I was surprised that she left them in the house alone when she went to shops or out with Andrew, or even just running in the mornings….they were still very young even if Hunter seemed old for his age. Franca, a great character but I’d like to have seen more of her and her bitchiness….

Stars: Four, a great read which I really enjoyed but probably a one off for me.
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author