Archive | March 14, 2015

Hard & Fast, A Rules to Break Novel, Ana Gabriel

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00TUIOU5E/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21

Hard & Fast, A Rules to Break Novel, Ana Gabriel
Genre:  Erotica, Romance.
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
I love rock star/film star romances so was looking forward to this. sadly though its one that doesn’t work for me. I’m sure others will love it – after all we all enjoy different things but it was a big fail for me.
Rose, I started off admiring her, going for her dreams, and not just settling in to an easy job at home.  I couldn’t understand though how – when she was three months in arrears with rent – she managed to go shopping quickly when she needed to go to an event with Cole. And how come she only had her interview clothes, and yet started that day and never went home for more? What did she wear next day( s ) It was little niggles like that which irritated me several times.
She thinks she’s in a dream working for big star Cole Dean, but gets brought back to earth when in her first night he calls for her in the early hours, and she walks in on him naked, giving oral sex to a model and wants her to pass him a condom! What?! As if that’s not enough to put her off, the very next night she’s having sex with him. This comes from the girl who moans she can’t get a role as an actress because she won’t go the “casting couch” way. She tells herself “no more” and then within a day – within hours sometimes, she’s having sex with him again. Despite knowing he’s – frankly – a man whore, she tells him she’s on the pill so he doesn’t need a condom. WTF!! I can’t believe anyone would have so little self respect, and so little regard for their safety.
I just couldn’t like Rose and as for Cole, he seemed a jerk…we never really got to know him, why he was always after sex…with anyone it seemed, and I need to like my main characters. TBH I couldn’t care about either of them after the first couple of chapters, and when they did develop a romance it just wasn’t working for me, I couldn’t believe in it.
Still – that’s just me, as I said I’m sure others will love it.
Stars: Two – not one for me.
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.

Tiger Lily 1 Amélie S. Duncan

Tiger Lily  1  Amélie S. Duncan

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00TBGTP3M/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21
What started as an assignment became more than Lily could have ever hoped for…

Lily Salomé has encountered more challenges than the average twenty-four year old. After a horrendous crash killed her parents, an abusive relationship was all she needed to calcify her broken heart to stone. So when Lily’s boss comes to her with a challenge most girls would balk at, she knows there isn’t much left in this world to be afraid of.

The target: Jonas Crane, a brooding business mogul who hasn’t smiled once since his divorce. Dark, dangerous and mouthwatering, Crane has written a book about life in the fast lane and with the recent publicity, Lily’s boss wants the rights. Problem is, Crane won’t return a phone call, let alone agree to a meeting. But if a pretty publishing assistant happens to run into him at the Waldorf, with a business card and a smile…what could go wrong?

A lot, it seems. Lily thinks she’s going to the Waldorf to meet a rich jerk, or worse, a playboy, but the truth is way more challenging. Jonas Crane is smart, engaging…and devastatingly out of her league.
Link to Follow Tour: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/02/tiger-lily-tiger-lily-1-by-amelie-s.html
Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24663177-tiger-lily?from_search=true

Buy Links: Amazon
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tiger-Lily-Am%C3%A9lie-S-Duncan-ebook/dp/B00TBGTP3M
Author Info

Amélie S. Duncan writes contemporary, erotic romances with a dark edge. Her inspiration comes from many sources including her life experiences and travels. She lives on the West Coast of the United States with her husband.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads
Website: http://www.ameliesduncan.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Am%C3%A9lie-S-Duncan/572889196145981
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmelieSDuncan
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9884055.Am_lie_S_Duncan

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Grand Prize: $10.00 Amazon eGift Card & Digital Copy of TIGER LILY and Two Runners Up will receive a Digital copy of TIGER LILY)
<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c8637/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”521ac4c8637″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_pijje98t”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src=”//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js”></script>
OR,
Link to Rafflecopter Page, http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/NTIxYWM0YzhjYmFkNDc1MDkxYzA3ZDNmMjhhM2RjOjYzNw==/?
Excerpt
I managed to not stare in awe at the murals, and walk confidently inside the softly lit lounge of Sir Harry’s.
The sleek mahogany bar with porcelain snack bowls dotted along the top took up a prominent portion of the room, and thereby was the first thing I noticed upon entry. Searching for a place to stand or sit, I zeroed in on one of the empty Japanned leather bar stools, and briskly made my way to secure the seat before someone else. With luck, I captured the vacant seat and swiveled around. Eyeing the eclectic mix of patrons, I stared over the high-fashioned starlets, middle-aged tailored gentlemen, and nouveau-riche designer clad tourists and wondered where I fit in.
Not sure, but I patted my back on arriving with ten minutes to spare before Jonas Crane was due to arrive. Jonas! It finally dawned on me I didn’t have a plan for approaching him. Knitting my brows, I tilted my head down and tried to focus on making an impromptu plan. What would be a good opener? Hello, yes. Jonas? Can I call you Jonas? I’m Lily Salomé from Arch Limited, and I’m your publishing house stalker, nice to meet you.
Fidgeting and inward gazing didn’t mix. At least not when holding my satin handbag with sweaty palms. Unfortunately, this realization came too late and my bag took flight, sliding across the floor.
Shit. I had barely made it inside the bar and hadn’t even ordered my first drink or eaten a pistachio nut without embarrassing myself. Straightening my shoulders and ignoring the burning of my cheeks, I lifted my chin and eased over in the direction of my bag, doing my best to pretend I was bored and didn’t care, or that I had maybe even purposely tossed it around. Spotting the bag, my insides winced at the polished leather shoes it had bounced against. I hastened my steps, but paused as a pair of large tanned hands with a golden ring on the left ring finger picked it up.
Gazing up further, I met the most luminous eyes I had ever seen. They were a rare combination of blue and turquoise like a tropical sea. He had black wavy hair that hung a little longer on the top and sides. Some lines around his eyes, but boasted of an otherwise flawless face. With a smooth angular jawline, straight nose, and well-defined cheekbones most women would die for, he was divine. Not to mention, full sensual lips were flashing a perfect set of teeth.
My hand trembled a little as I took my handbag from him, and recognition finally set in. He was not only gorgeous, but he was the man I had come here for, Jonas Crane. Serendipitous or cliché, it didn’t matter. My “accidental on purpose” encounter with him had taken place.

My Review

Tiger Lily (Tiger Lily 1)  Amélie S. Duncan
Genre:  Erotic romance
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
I loved Amélie’s Debut book Little wolf, and was pleased to review this one. I really enjoyed it once again, the same perfect blend of sex and story with neither dominating the other.
Lily has had such a lot happen in such a short while, and the most recent being her fiancé dumping her after she moved across country to be with him. He’s a jerk, as we see later in the book, an abusive jerk at that. Lily is strong though – at least she tries hard to be knowing that’s what her parents would want. The Salome name was everything to her dad, and he seems to have had a motto including it for every eventuality! She’s finally found a job she loves after she finished her degree, and her boss asks her to do something to help the business one evening. She respects Gregor greatly and he’s been good to her, so she thinks that maybe this will help her get a promotion, and it will certainly help the business if she can pull it off. Its simply meeting with Jonas to push their firm for his book. Of course they wouldn’t normally be in the running for something like this, so the meeting isn’t quite as business kosher as it seems, more that Gregor just happens to know where Jonas will be that night, and wants Lily to talk to him – have a sort of off the cuff “accidental” meeting.
Poor Lily is a klutz… I know how she feels only too well, and while she’s mulling the best way to approach Jonas to make it look natural she drops her bag, which skims over the floor to land at Jonas feet! From then on they talk and ….before long they are in a most strange relationship. well strange for Lily, not for Jonas.
Jonas is divorced, but gets on well with his ex and sees his teenage son frequently. He’s as the description says, Dark, Dangerous and Delicious, and the tension between him and Lily is palpable. He’s not interested in another long term or permanent relationship though – his divorce has left him feeling that simply sexual companions is the most he can do. Poor Lily thinks she can do that – but she’s much too gentle of heart. They are at opposite ends of the sexual spectrum, she’s naive and gentle, looking for love, he’s been there done that and just wants a friend to accompany him and stop him feeling lonely, and to be available for some hot and steamy sex whenever he wants. When she agrees to his request they have some incredible sexual encounters, and are soon in an intense and erotic sort of liaison. It is good to have once again the sex scenes well written and varied, they feel erotic and sensual and not just “more dull sex” as we get too often. That’s one of the things I enjoyed in “”Little Wolf.
As always just when things look good the cracks appear, secrets from the past creep out, Lily starts to get emotionally involved, her outside life and the one with Jonas overlap, and his need to control everything causes tensions and lies. Suddenly everything has hit at once, Jonas and Gregor’s shared past, Lily’s past with her fiancé and reminders of her parents death, and it seems like it’s all over.  I like all the people here, they feel very real, and the ex being kind for a change was refreshing. Lily needs a friend, and she could be just that the way things are going.
Stars: Five, cracking read, and I can’t wait for part two. I’m not sure if this is in two or three parts but hopefully it won’t be long til the next. .
ARC provided by author.

Edit: I’ve asked Amelie, and this is in three parts with part two hopefully out by end of March.

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author