Carnal Beginnings, Reily Garret

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00QR2F6HW/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21

Carnal Beginnings, Reily Garret
Genre:  Mystery and Thrillers, Erotic Romance.
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
This was a mix for me, parts that I enjoyed and yet a lot that I had difficulty in accepting. The book itself is well written and I liked tha characters. I do like a good Bi tch in a book, so Jackie was a great person for me, I love some one snide and nasty and she was…I wouldn’t have minded seeing more of her. Even with her though there were things that felt not quite right to me. Would she really bully another employee in front f her boss? Surely when she did he would have said something? I’ve found most bullies like to keep their actions away from those above them, they really are cowards at heart.
Adara –I liked her, and she’d certainly gone through the mill. She’s very much in a dream world with her attraction to her boss, and that’s clear to the awful work colleague Jackie who derides her for it. Still, what she doesn’t know is that Julien is really attracted to Adara too….and as he takes steps to get closer to her he learns more about her traumatic background. Things all come to a head at the same time as he’s trying to get to know her, with her cousin and uncle really not liking Julien’s interference. So good so far, and I was enjoying this though with a few reservations. Then as things get more dangerous she stays with Julien, and its like a red rag,  the dangers get ever more real, with  a close friend going missing, she gets stalkers and sneaking attacks on her, making her ever more afraid. Luckily Julien and his brothers are well placed to deal with things like this.
The main plot was excellent and the dangers felt very real, the office banter very genuine, the sex was pretty hot and sensual. What gave me a problem though was the reality. I need to feel a plot could be real, that unless I’m reading fantasy everything that happens could happen. The events that occurred her were fine in that respect except for the timing. It all happens over a very short timespan, just a couple of weeks it seems, and I just couldn’t see Adara going from the serious trauma and long term abuse, beatings, rapes, mental ignominies to accepting all Julien says and does. His commands to strip for instance, meant to encourage her confidence and engender trust in him I think – just didn’t work for me. Same with visiting the club, its all too much too soon for me. Everything I’ve read about BDSM and abuse leans towards a very long recuperation, a slow desensitisation, and not just a couple of club visits, a couple of nights talking and “playing” and its all systems go. Given what she’s been through, and her declaration of thinking she’d never want sex for pleasure,  I found it really hard to believe that she was wanting to make love with Julien just a couple of days later. Oddly I’ve just reviewed another story, different plot but one where the action again covers a couple of weeks, and the mental turnaround of the main characters is so massive that I felt it too needed more time…maybe its just me, that I need a bit more believability before I can be convinced. Clearly not everyone feels this way from the number of high star reviews. It doesn’t mean I didn’t like the book, I did , just that I have reservations. The part toward the end, where Julien gets some bad news – that was just the sort of timescale I want/need, where its weeks, and the drama gets properly (IMO) strung out, time to develop and feels so much more realistic. If the whole book had been that way I’d have rated much higher.
Stars: Three and a half. A mixed review – some parts I really enjoyed, and could go along with, others I had cautions over.
ARC provided by author.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

