Go Small or Go Home, Toronto Collection 2, Heather Wardell

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003HC9BHQ/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21

Go Small or Go Home, Toronto Collection 2, Heather Wardell
Genre: Romance, women’s fiction
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
I hadn’t realised til I looked it up just how many of Heathers books I’ve read – and how incredibly different they all are. All contemporary romance, all with great and realistic characters, and yet she makes each one very individual and fresh. Sometimes when authors have done a number of books in a genre they begin to feel very much the same, but Heather’s – no, each one I’ve read is very distinct.
Tess, what a lovely lady. she’s got family and work issues at the moment though, and as an artist myself ( online only) I understood all too well her problems getting her work seen, and parting with it to someone who doesn’t “love” it, but just wants it to fit a certain space or gap in their home….The way she describes her trials with galleries is very real, and one of the reasons I’m online only – and sell very little….I hate the marketing side too which takes so much time away from creating. I’ve seen artists who sell lots of works and make a living from it, but only a very few talented people get to paint what they want, most end up doing a kind of generic assembly line style, painting quickly to a selling format to keep up the turnover, keep the prices down and compete with IKEA prints! Tess’ work was taking so long, taking so much out of her and yet to make a living she would have to increase turnover to a point where it wouldn’t be enjoyable any more. That’s a hard choice, keep her dream but giving up her love, or keep the love of her work and give up the dream. I’ve made my choice, and really feel for her dilemma. I loved the descriptions of her diorama’s, I had mental images of them in my head.
Forrest, wow what that poor guy had been through. I could understand too how he felt about the fans, they’re a tough bunch in any sport and not inclined to be too forgiving! He understands too well their reaction and it hurts. When he and Tess first meet she knows nothing about hockey and has no idea who she is. They have a tough time working to get him fit, especially when he won’t take her advice, and also clearly something emotional/mental is holding back his recovery. That mind/body connection is very strong, and to be fully well needs to be in balance.
I loved the way they slowly grew to respect and like each other. Loved Tess’ friend Jen and her house decor fiasco, and Tess’ sister Pam. She had problems, Tess tried to help but sometimes people wont admit they need it. It was good too seeing some of the other players, and understanding more of how they worked as a team.
When there’s “that” scene in the hotel, I so felt for Tess. What an awful thing to happen, especially later when she learns more about her appearance. I just wanted to give her a hug. She’s great though, conducts herself with dignity and doesn’t let it affect her work, even though that’s tough when Forrest seems to go from friends to cool acquaintances and back. You never quite know which Forrest you’re going to meet at any time.
Stars: Five. Its a great read, very realistic, very drama filled and full of emotion. I loved it and its got for me the perfect ending. tars: Stars: Five, a fun and very real feeling romance.
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

