Misfits, Garrett Leigh

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00UR1XRJ8/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21

Misfits, Garrett Leigh
Genre: LGBTQIA, Literature/Fiction (Adult)
.Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
What I love about Riptide books is they always deliver a story that’s solid, not just a sexual frenzy, but one where the sex scenes are part of a moving and thought provoking story. I don’t just want to read sex, I need an emotional story to put it in context, otherwise its just meaningless. This time it’s a duo about to become a trio, and  where one of the three has Tourette’s
I know nothing of TS, and was so glad when I read that the author hadn’t just Googled it, but actually spoken to someone with it and learned more that way. It feels very real in the book, and I really felt for poor Jake. It must be so difficult having no control over movement and speech at times, and having people being so judgemental thinking you’re just an abusive drunk or something.
Anyway – the research – that’s what gives this book the edge for me, that it felt real, that both Cass and Tom asked the wrong questions at times, didn’t always know the best way to act, that how Jake coped was individual to him, and that he had good and bad days. As a wheelchair user I get furious in a book where someone is in one and does things that just aren’t possible, or just swans through life without any of the everyday problems we face in reality. I like books that are different but they need to be researched properly, and here this felt to me very genuine. I felt Jake was a real person, and was so upset for him at times, and understood why he held back, having learned via his past that people didn’t always react well. When he laughed at his swearing it made me laugh too – it was good that he could see the humour in it at times. When he’s talking to Tom and says his TS swearing is coming out as XXXX and Tom says “ so when you call me a b astard you mean it, it’s not the TS!!” – made me smile that part.
So the story is how the three find a way together, Tom with his middle class background and loving, accepting family, Cass whose past has been problematic and rough, and who’s very quiet about most of it, and now Jake who also has had a tough past. He can’t quite believe that a couple as solid as Cass and Tom want him with them. He’s not sure if Tom is just being kind, if Cass accepts him to keep Tom happy – and given the way he’s usually treated it feels like he’s always waiting for the other shoe to drop. Over time though they show him they do want him, for himself and as part of them, and its very emotional. Tom goes slowly with him, helping where he can without picking at his pride, when you’ve got nothing it’s hard to take from someone, however well meaning, when you know they’ve never really been in your position. Tom is wonderful though – so loving and one of those genuinely kind people who want to share their success, and help others less fortunate. He slowly pushed Jake into work situations and they find out what he is good at, and it turns out he’s just what they need  at work as well as completing them as a trio. Its not all smooth though, there are some really sad hiccups along the way, times when the wrong thing is said or done, times when Jake doubts them and himself and then a huge spanner thrown in at the end which could derail them all and it’s up to Jake to be the one to pull them through.
Stars: Five, a great read full of emotion and realism.
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

