A Heart’s Disguise, A Heart’s Obsession, Colleen Coble

 

A Heart’s Disguise, Colleen Coble
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews.

Genre: Romance, Historical

I liked the sound of this one but…it didn’t really work as well for me as I’d hoped. Its a story in three parts, and each is quite short at only 788 locations on kindle. I’m guessing that’s about 80 pages so there just wasn’t space enough to really get to know the characters or the story. It felt very surface based, where almost as soon as a plotline was introduced things happened and we moved on to next one. I really like to get lost in a story, and I just didn’t feel deep enough here to do that. I need to feel I’m back there in the West, facing the hardships they do and empathising with poor Sarah. It was a tough time in history and I need to really Feel it, live all the hardships and problems with them. Its an interesting premise though, and I’m looking forward to maybe a bit more depth, and that lovely potential nasty person/jealousy storyline in the next episode given we’ve met most of the major characters. That sort of plot is just what I love, so fingers crossed…
This was a good beginning in introducing everything, but due to the brevity everything felt a bit rushed. Still – though I love long books, there are those who like one of my good friends, want a book they can finish in a couple of weeks. She only reads a few pages each night so 100,00 words – books I love – are her worst nightmare. Its another insight into how were all different in what we want, and though this didn’t work for me it will for others.
Stars: Two and a half, lots of potential but so far for me its not quite getting there.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

 
A Heart’s Obsession, Colleen Coble
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews.

Genre: Historical Romance.

Well, this instalment went better for me, I began to get to know the characters. Sarah is in a hard place, and if she stays now her father has died her brother is going to force her to marry Ben. She still loves Rand though, and now that she’s seen a side of Ben she never knew, he’s the last person she wants to marry. She escapes by going to the Fort with her best friend and her husband, Rand’s brother, taking her younger brother with them. What a shock though when after a terrible journey they get to the fort to find Rand engaged. I really felt for her, could feel just how shocked and upset she was. His fiancée is a great character (great in that I love a “good” bad person, instead of just all sweet, kind ones), a real nasty, jealous woman, though she only shows the sweet side in public. Sarah stays, she tells Rand she only wants him to be happy, but when she sees what Jessica is really like she wonders if there’s still hope for them to be together, and if she can win him back.

Its a good read, packed with emotion and drama and full of life as it was back then, tough, limited choices and the dangerous and strange relationship between Soldiers and Indians. Sarah is making a place for herself there. as a single lady looking after her younger brother but its all very edgy, and I could feel the tension, that things could change any moment. Bad Ben turns up again too – still after Sarah and that adds to the feel of stress and strain. My only problem with this book is like the last one – its so short at just under 800 kindle locations again. If this was three full sized novels I’d love it, but as it is for me it just doesn’t do justice to the story it could be – but remember as ever we all want different things, and there are millions of readers that want shorter reads of course.
Stars: Four, a fun read, with emotion and drama and if it was longer for me this would probably be a five.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

