Only Trick, Jewel E. Ann

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00TU4DLJ4/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21

Only Trick, Jewel E. Ann
Genre:  Erotic, Romance,
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Well, I looked forward to this but though the sex scenes were hot and well written, it was let down for me by Darby and Trick….Darby worked part time in a busy A&E dept. and seemed like a decent person – very close to her nana, but not to her father. Her mum died at her birth and he’s been a cold closed person, really only concerned with image and his career – he’s currently married to a rich, younger lady but to Darby’s disgust he cheats on her constantly with a stream of bimbos. Darby has her own apartment her nana bought her and they see each other frequently. ( loved her nan BTW) All seems well until she comes across Trick – sex god on legs. She’s told he’s gay but she’s attracted to him very much so even though she thinks he’s gay, has met and really likes his partner Grady, she sets out to get him. She becomes a stalker almost, and that’s where I really disliked her. She berates her father for having affairs and yet she’s prepared to break up what she thinks is a happy relationship just because she wants Trick, even though he’s made it very, very clear he’s not interested. I can’t understand people who can do that, deliberately set out to destroy something for their own selfish reasons.
Trick, well he owes much to Grady, and is happy to go along with him in letting others assume they are together – it gives Grady some freedom to play away, and it keeps ladies from being offended when he turns down their approaches, important for his career.  He doesn’t want anything to do with females, still carrying grief from his memory loss, and doesn’t want to have a relationship. He can see through Darby, and to begin he’s a real jerk, a complete ars ehole to her…but given she won’t take a hint I can’t blame him. Never the less he is attracted, and she wears him down. She still thinks he’s gay, and when they sleep together ( just sleep as BFF) she never gives a thought to how Grady would feel about it, even though she’s met him and really likes him. See? Miss Selfish all the way…
Of course things change, they both learn more about each other, and their relationship quickly heats up leading to the hot and sensual sex scenes. Still, a couple of things kept creeping in and annoying me. It seems lately all Romance Alpha males have to have a tell, and Tricks is his lip curl – and the Come command. Ok on first, second, even third reading, but once I’d read it more than half a dozen times in a short space it just annoyed me…his Come command made him sound like he was calling his dog, and the lip curl began to feel as though he’d got a facial tic or something…not the way I think I’m meant to feel. Sometimes Less is More.
Anyway its a hot read, and if you can get past Darby’s selfishness then its a decent read. Not the special one I was hoping though, I kind of worked out what was going to happen, and what had in his past, though not exactly of course, and its a one off read for me.

Stars:  Three, sexy and sensual but Darby’s willingness to put herself first was too much for me.
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

