The Alchemist’s Daughter, (Bianca Goddard Mysteries 1), by Mary Lawrence

 

The Alchemist’s Daughter, (Bianca Goddard Mysteries 1), by Mary Lawrence
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Women’s literature, Historical fiction
I like the Tudor period in history, and this books brings it vividly to live. Not the richness of the Courts and moneyed classes, but the dark, grimy underbelly of those grubbing and scrabbling to survive daily in the poverty that most of the London lived in. I was disappointed that though Bianca is the daughter in the title, she abhorred the word alchemy, and thus there was little actual reference to it in the novel itself. I was expecting more, and its a subject that was very prevalent in “science” at the time and that fascinates me and was one of the draws to this novel. Still, it’s an interesting read, brings the time period to life vividly and is at times stomach churning ( the rats)….
I loved Bianca, a very strong, forthright character. John wants to marry her but she feels she can’t fit in to the Wife and Mother mould, without leaving her beloved experiments. That’s a part of who she is, though I feel John accepts that and wouldn’t expect her to drop everything. Never the less for now she’s still single, and poor John is still waiting – that’s about the extent of their romance in this book. Maybe later ones will take it further? There are some fabulous characters here, well drawn and who feel very true to the period. The story bases around the death of Bianca’s friend, and how Bianca needs to solve who killed her as she faces being hanged for the murder. It takes us on a winding tale, bringing in more murders and mysteries, blackmailing and bribery, smuggling and skulduggery– that seems to have been a way of life in this period, and takes us on a twisted journey before all is revealed.
Like other reviewers I wondered if I’d missed some kind of prequel featuring Bianca’s parents and the poisoning accusation, but there isn’t one even though this incident is referred to many times, and is one of the lynchpins of Bianca’s hate of the word Alchemy. Which brings us to that subject and how disappointed I was that there wasn’t more than simply that dislike of hers in the book. I’d have loved a bit more description about her remedies too – but that’s just a personal thing, I find mediaeval remedies fascinating, dead mice tied in a scarf for a sore throat, mercury to cure syphilis – that kind of weirdness! The mystery itself is fairly simple, but takes us on quite a twisting journey before we get to the true story. I’m still a bit puzzled even after finishing by the Rat Man who is at the beginning and the end….
Stars: Four, a fun read and a vivid portrayal of everyday life for the underclasses in this period of history.
ARC supplied by publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

One response to “The Alchemist’s Daughter, (Bianca Goddard Mysteries 1), by Mary Lawrence”

  1. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff says :

    Great review! I enjoyed this also although there were definitely parts that made me squirm. It’ll be interesting to see where the author takes this in forthcoming books.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

