Leaving Me Behind, Sigal Ehrlich

 

Leaving Me Behind, Sigal Ehrlich

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance, erotica
Sigal is an author new to me so I had no idea what to expect from this book, but it’s got some great reviews so I thought I’d enjoy it. I was right – its a fabulous read, not a bog standard a meets b and they live HEA romance, but a wonderful journey, a voyage of discovery and along the way we learn with Liv.
Poor Liv, an only child and her mum has always been pushing her to be that bit more…however well Liv does its never quite enough for her mum, and Liv strives to be what she will approve. Its taken things from her though, left her feeling that she just isn’t good enough, thin enough, clever enough and yet she’s a successful and respected career lady who’s worked hard to get where she is. She’s been in therapy for years with the wonderfully named Dr smartass – well, that’s what she calls him, taking the pronunciation of his names to extremes….she wants answers from him, and all he does is give her more questions, til after yet another frustrated call with her parents and session with the doc she decides to make a huge change and take a year out to live abroad. How brave of her. Isn’t it something many people think about? Leaving life behind and starting again, clean slate? She picks a town in Spain simply because she liked the name…and it brings her to things and people she’d never imagined.
I loved Liv, but at times got sooo frustrated with her. The influence her mum had on her spirit was awful, and even now in her thirties she’s still lacking in her own mind. Never thinks she’s enough, so when she meets the delicious Sebastian she lets him have everything physically but keeps her emotions and heart tightly wrapped. I got so cross at her at times, just jumping to conclusions, taking the “safe” emotional path, and being so afraid to move forward. Though I understood I was still wanting her to go for it. Sebastian – he’s just wonderful, so patient, so understanding and so so sexy. He has all the local ladies drooling, and is a really good man.
I loved the circle of friends, and the cafe and cooking “lessons”…I’d be happy to go for those too!! They added so much to this book, its a hot and sensual read, with some seriously erotic, seductive lovemaking. Its not just sex when its Sebastian – its more, with all the feelings he has for Liv poured in. I was a bit taken back about the conversation with his mum that Liv overhears. Did he know she was listening and say it to reassure her knowing how scared she is of too much emotion, did he just mean to reassure his mum, or did he genuinely feel like that? I thought by then he was past the original superficial attraction and was, if not in love, very close to it….
Its a great read, full of humour and friendship, emotion, solid drama and set in a wonderful background. I could imagine myself there with them, sipping wine and nibbling with the girls, and just wishing for things to go right for Liv and Sebastian finally. they seemed to be two steps forward and one back, and then towards the end…I was getting really emotional thinking they wouldn’t find a way through Liv’s barriers. Its a really sensual, erotic read, with scenes that are steamy and seductive without being overdone or repetitive. The whole book feels very fresh and vibrant and was a great escape to warmth, sunshine and a different life for a few hours
Stars: Five, its a wonderful book about Liv’s journey of discovery, of learning to love herself, and finding love along the way.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

