One More Shot, Victoria Denault and Resistor, Black Halo 2.5 , Madelynne Ellis

One More Shot, Victoria Denault
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance, Women’s Fiction
I thought this sounded fun, I’ve enjoyed a few similar novels in the past. It was a good read, but not a great one though. I didn’t really feel the connection between Jordan and Jessie, and so when they split then met again the sexual tension, the simmering attraction was missing for me. The reasons for the split too didn’t seem big enough considering how long they’d been close friends and it all felt like a storm in a teacup…even after they reconnected they were still making the same mistakes, assuming things based on surface views, not talking to each other and holding grudges from things long past. I wanted to shake the pair of them – if they really wanted each other I felt they’d have done more, been more proactive. As it is it seems it was others interactions that did the most to reconnect them.
A fun read, and some decent characters but nothing special for me, and it’s a one off read only.

Stars: Three, a so-so read.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

******************************

  Resistor, Black Halo 2.5 , Madelynne Ellis
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance, Erotica
Well, I love the Black Halo series and Madelynne’s writing, and was eager to read this. sadly its not the usual five star read for me as it’s very short – just  1435 kindle locations….When i was searching for info I couldn’t find the “novella” tag but I’m sure by publication that will be there. If like me you don’t really get on with sort reads take note!
So it’s Spook’s story – he’s always intrigued me, lives up to his name being like a kind of ghost, always around, always watching but rarely actually present, and when it comes to sex he’s definitely a voyeur only with his albums of erotic images. I was really looking forward to knowing what was behind his somewhat strange behaviour but we still don’t get the full story here. I want to know what it was that happened eight years ago – and I’m having to wait for part two to find out. Still, the brevity of the book means info is restricted, and this part concentrates on Spook meeting up once more with Allegra – Alle. They had a very short and sensual fling within his brief a few months back, which has stressed him ever since. Now she looks to be working with the group for some time, and he just doesn’t know if he’ll crack under the pressure seeing her has on him. Alle is confused, she thought they had something special, enjoyed what they did, and waited for him to call – but in vain. This time she’s determined to pin him down. I know she’s supposed to be this tough girl in a man’s world, but I found her a bit aggressive TBH, pursuing Spook when it was clear it distressed him. I guess that’s what she felt she had to do, but I didn’t like it and it felt as though when she and Spook were together he was kind of forced into it – and I don’t like that. Its no good rationalising that his body was saying yes, so ignoring his mind….still, I really need to read the next part and hopefully all will come clear. As it is it just feels unfinished to me, and though I’ve loved all the BH books so far this is a three for me.
Stars: Three, its a hot and sensual read but just feels unfinished to me.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

