On My Knees, A Stark Novel, J. Kenner

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00SYICRJC/ef=nosim?tag=jeanniezelosb-21

On My Knees, A Stark Novel, J. Kenner
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance,
This picks straight up where the last novel left off, and we’re plunged into the world once again. Heat, action, drama – once again this episode has all that. Its not five star from me though because…well, maybe its because for a romance to span three books takes a lot of solid plots, and I just felt here instead the plots were just dragged out to fill the space. I was pretty sure about the identity of a certain person early on – clues were in book one, and a multitude of them here, and yet Sylvia not once seems to see it or ask relevant questions that most people would by now. That smacks of unreality to me, and it wasn’t the only thing she failed to ask that was so so evident. Each time they had a hiccup it became major drama and all the secrets were hinted at so much that by the time they were revealed it was for me anti climatic. The identity if who’s leaking info – I’m pretty sure I know who that is, and possibly why, but Sylvia and Jackson – even Damien, don’t seem to see what’s going on under their noses, and I just think why? For top business people they are amazingly oblivious of something incredibly important!The Jackson/Damien connection too became a story that devolved into little plots that just felt forced  I think for so many trilogies they’d be better as just two books, or as lots of us best enjoy – once long book! I find I enjoy these reads best once all parts are out, and I can read and enjoy the whole story without waiting months for the next part, just one long back to back session, and get really immersed in the story.
As before the characters are excellent and they feel very real. I like that there’s a variety, that the story doesn’t just circle around three/four main people. Its more interesting when others are brought in, and leads to different views of events through their eyes and through conversations with them. We may think we know what a character is thinking, how they interpret a conversation or an action, but until they articulate it to someone really we’re just guessing. There’s lots of J Kenner trademark erotic sex scenes here, and as always they were well written and hot and sensual, but there were so many that I found myself skipping to get to the actual meat of the story. There comes a time in many trilogies I’ve noticed, when the sex begins to take over the story – for many readers that doesn’t matter but for me it does. Story first then sex backing it works best for me every time. Its these little niggles that’s stopped the book from being five stars for me, still a fantastic read but with some small irritations. Of course – arrghh – it ends on a massive cliffhanger…..
Stars: Four, a great follow up, but not quite a five for me.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers
KENNER_OnMyKnees_ec1KENNER_OnMyKnees_ec2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “On My Knees, A Stark Novel, J. Kenner”

  1. lizellyn says :

    Thanks for the review. Going to pick up my copy today.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

