Blue Midnight, Tess Thompson

 

Blue Midnight,  Tess Thompsonbmimg
Genre:  Romance, Mystery and Thrillers
I really didn’t know what sort of read this would be, but I love second chance romances so started eagerly. Poor Blythe, she’s given her all to her marriage, put her own career, hopes and dreams aside for her husband and family. The more we read the more we see how he belittled her, one of those men who say things under a guise of kindness – you know “ don’t wear that darling, I wouldn’t want you to be embarrassed”- that sort of comment. Its sucked the life out of her and now the B stard has gone off with someone younger, still blaming her for his defection. She’s gutted but luckily her sister Bliss steps in. One change of image, clothes, hair, makeup and Blythe is off on an adventure complete with new camera courtesy of Bliss’ chequebook. Her photography was another think the jerk stopped “ its a little hobby darling, you’ll never make any money at it”. ar sehole. Bliss is determined her big sister will move forward, and regain what she loved.
The starting point is the search for Finn. It takes her on an adventure where she comes across all sorts of things, a ghost, a witch, lots of unexplained things, and a search for the truth for Finn’s family. Its a wonderful read, slowly meandering along, not a breakneck speed race. It made me feel I was there with her, made me smile, made me cry, or at least get tears, several times. Families and people are more than the surface front they present and slowly we see the layers underneath Finn’s family, and as they get revealed they bring up some danger that’s been hidden for years. Towards the end as the secrets begin to unfold the danger stacks up and the story goes from a slow ramble through the town to a fast and climatic ending. I love the characters, from the bothers and Kevan’s daughter, the mysterious Moonbeam, the typical small town characters that know everything – or at least think they do. Then there’s Blythe’s daughters, they were so sweet. We don’t see much of them but what they do add is just perfect. I wanted her ex to get his comeuppance, that’s just me, I hate characters like him and want them to get what they deserve, be sorry what they’ve lost, but from what the girls say its clear not all was perfect in paradise. I love their recollections of the new wife’s comments!! The story brings in events that could be supernatural, or could be just coincidence. Did Blythe really see what she thought, or was it her imagination, a breeze bringing shadows perhaps, a bit of a waking dream?  Is Moonstone really a witch, or just someone unusually intuitive?  Its one of those stories that could be explained away, but I like to go with the supernatural element. Its comforting to think that maybe there’s more than just us, maybe those we’ve lost can still watch over and help us. I can’t leave without mentioning Shakespeare. Anyone who’s had a much loved pet will feel for him, a wonderful addition to the characters, he’s just so lovely, retreating to his bed when the commanding family matriarch  appeared, and I’d have been there with him too! Its hard to see a pet ageing, and things like him not being able to jump up into the truck anymore, but needing to be lifted will strike a chord with anyone whose had an aging dog. He  added to the very real feeling this novel gave me.
Stars: Five, one of those books which stay with you for a while. Its not one I’ll read again soon, but maybe pick up again in a couple of years.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

3 responses to “Blue Midnight, Tess Thompson”

  1. jeanniezelos says :

    I’m glad you enjoyed this review Mary, I try to write what I as a reader would want to know, but when I get enthusiastic its difficult not to add too much. I have to rein myself in and chop chunks out after my first write!!

    MaryAnn, I’ll look out for book two and other novels she’s written too. This was my first of her books.

  2. Mary Smith says :

    I enjoyed reading your review of what sounds like a great read.

    • MaryAnn says :

      Mary it is very good and the second in the series, Blue Moon, will be released on August 8, 2015. This is a great review, Jeannie. I’m Tess Thompson’s book manager and was thrilled to see you enjoyed Blue Midnight so much! I love this series, well, all her books really!

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

