La Fleur de Blanc, Lexi Maxxwell

La Fleur de Blanc, Lexi Maxxwell
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance,Women’s fiction
My first Lexi Maxxwell read, and what fun it was. Its a romance book, but one just in the sense it has romance in it, not one about an actual romance – it has the elements that make up looking for love, rather than a happy ever after true love read. Its also got humour, friendship, living out dreams, and some of life’s reality – someone who wants to knock the dream down, destroy it. It felt very real, especially the KBK interventions. I think everyone knows or has experiences with someone like her. She certainly reminded me of someone in my past, a boss who hated success of those below her it seemed.
I love the idea of an all white flower shop, one of the classic gardens in UK – Sissinghurst Castle Garden – is recreating the all white garden designed by
Vita Sackville-West. When I first read about her original idea it sparked something in me, it would look fabulous at night with soft ghostly shapes…Still, back to the book – white has so many shades, from the bluey amost hard to look at white to softest creams that range through pinks, lilacs and fawn, and a shop with just those would be so classic, no clashing colours, no busy headachy styles, just a calm oasis of gentility. I loved when Lily was flower shopping or talking about them.
Its been Lily’s dream, and now its finally happening. We can see right from the start that’s she’s kind of naive about the practicalities, but she has the grit and determination to make it work. There’s someone though who’s all out to stop her from being successful, the awful Kerry Barret Kirby, who sees herself as the person at the top of the Palm’s Couture tree and arbiter of all things pertaining to it.
The book makes for a fun read, I sniggered at a couple of things…and I like the light-hearted feel of it. I did think there was going to be a solid romance at the heart, maybe Len, maybe the mysterious Matt ( and I’d love to know more about him) but there isn’t one. It works though and I’d love to see where Lily goes next, what happens to the Palm Couture residents. They make for a fun, if mixed, bunch. Allison is a real gem, along with Antonia from Buns, and Len of course, but I’d love to know more about the Bella men, and the art gallery guy who’s name I’ve forgotten. Its a one story, stand alone read, about how Lily sets up with her shop, and the barriers she faces and how she deals with them, but there’s so much intrigue in the other inhabitants that I’d like more.
On Lexi’s website there’s lots more info about her books and how to get some free to give a taste of her writing style. I think that’s a great idea. I’ve gone on to buy many series/standalones when I’ve got a taster one free, not just a sample but a full book, so I can see how authors work a story.

Stars: Four, its a really fun read but I was disappointed at the lack of an actual romance for Lily, one that’s continued rather than just a couple of connections. I expected differently and that expectation led to disappointment, but its a story I enjoyed and I’d love to read more from the gang.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

