Wounded, Volume 1, Amy Lane

 

Wounded, Volume 1, Amy Lane
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Sci-fi and Fantasy
Strangely, although this is book one, you really need to read the earlier book Vulnerable to understand all that goes on. I’d seen this one for review and when looking up info came across Vulnerable, read the sample and was so blown away by the story I had to buy it ( wow – with my own money – even though I’d a slew of books to read!), and read it before starting this! Its a fabulous series, full of the best of the supernatural world, vampires, shape changers, elves and all sorts of strange people living hidden in plain sight in the “normal” world. I love the way Fae in a book lets in so much beautiful fantasy, the way it can be so magical and unexpected.
Cory has now become part of it, very unexpectedly, and is in a kind of limbo. At the end of the last book her lover Adrian died – I was gutted, heartbroken for her. I hate when things like that happen and yet…I also love it, it shows that there’s going to be unexpected events, that the author isn’t scared to kill off major characters and makes the books unpredictable. I have read series where it didn’t work, where I was put off the stories that followed, but here Cory also has Green, and that keeps that continuity going. There both grieving, along with others of Green’s people, for Adrian and for others that died in Vulnerable. Now they need to move on, life continued despite all the grief in the world and there are people depending on them as leaders.
Cory goes off to college with Renny, returning when breaks allow. Then something huge happens, and they need to regroup, to get back together, to defeat yet another enemy, but away from home territory. Their grief shows, they’re thought weak, and to an extent it had weakened them. Green and his seconds have always welcomed everyone, unlike the other Sidhe leaders, and it makes them stronger when those they’ve so long supported are now able to support them.
Its another great read, taking in battles and dangers, learning more about Green and Adrian’s past, bringing in more people to the protection Green offers. I love the way that the dangers are worked in, caught in to the everyday lives of Green and his group, so the personal touches and personalities can really shine. I don’t want to watch from afar but get right into the story, and knowing the characters and their issues brings me into it best. I feel I’m there with them, scared and wanting things to go right, happy and elated when they do. There’s sex here – lots of it. Its not graphic, but it is frequent and its not just m/f but m/m too and ménage. That’s fine by me but I know some people don’t like it. I feel it works well in the story, that without it things wouldn’t have such clean explanations. Sometimes sex comes into a story just for titillation it feels, but here its integral, a needed part of the story. I love too the way that Officer Max has been drawn somewhat reluctantly into the group, even though he’s human. It ends on a natural point, but showing that way for the next book ( s) I just wish they were out now!
Stars: Five, a fabulous read for fantasy lovers.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

