Sins of my Father, Lisa Cardiff


Sins of my Father, Lisa Cardiff
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: Romance,
Strange how things work out. I’ve got two books on my list currently, carrying the same theme – revenge on the father by way of the daughter – and yet they are two very different books, and treat the plots totally distinct from each other. ( The other book is Beauty and the Bachelor, Naima Simone ) They’re both romances but this one delivers the plot by way of a suspense theme.
Archer. Cold, calculating and determined to revenge his mother. He’s been planning this for many years, and now everything is finally coming together. He needs Langley though to finally get his plan to fruition. He doesn’t know her, but doesn’t think of how this will affect her life, change her life, just that she’s integral to his plotting and he needs any information he can get out of her. For that she needs to trust him, and his romancing is all geared to that. Then he meets her as part one of his plan, and starts to feel for her. For a long while even though his heart is telling him he’s wrong he’s sticking to his plan, pushing away thoughts of tenderness towards her, pulling forward his original thoughts on how best to get information from her, even though part of him is telling him he’s wrong to use her, that she won’t forgive him. He can’t let go of his plan now even if he can see how much it will hurt her. Then it seems its not just him that’s out for revenge, but where he’s using money and Langley, someone else is threatening her and she’s in real danger….
Its a shortish read at 2997 kindle locations, and yet delivers an exciting read, with some real heat and sensuality between Archer and Langley. That surprised me, as for me usually shorter books just don’t have the space to let me feel I know the characters and care for them. If I’d realised this was so short I probably wouldn’t have requested it…but I’ve enjoyed Lisa’s novels before, and didn’t look at the book length. I liked Langley, felt for her. She’s trying to make her own life and yet stuck in the mire of politics and plans.. Archer seemed so calculating at first, and then as we knew him better there was a real dichotomy for him, stick to his revenge and hurt Langley beyond recovery, or take his new found feelings for Langley and give up his long held plans….
Stars: Four. Its a fun read, a great way to get lost in a book for a couple of hours. Its not a re-reader for me but one I very much enjoyed as a one off. ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

