Uncharted, Claudia Burgoa

 

Uncharted, Claudia Burgoa
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre: New Adult, Romance
When I started reading this I was soo disappointed – the characters were just 17 and 18….and I was expecting them to be in their early twenties at least. I’ve read a few with teens as leads but it’s rare they work for me, just seem too exaggerated and this started this way, with storm in a teacup dramas and Jacob’s chat-ups being really juvenile seeming. I hate too the way their parents were introduced – the “we’ve got two dads” bit and then a couple of pages later ( I was still only at 4%!) in a conversation with his brother, Jacob quotes his dad Chris saying something like “ I can’t get my husband to stop playing the Beatles” when talking to one of the triplets. When I talk about my husband to my kids I’ll call him Dad or by his name, but somehow it always seems that if people are GLBTQIA they have to get called Husband or Wife on every possible occasion. It just seems odd to me, not realistic but maybe that’s me out of step – who knows? Anyway that was it – the first third annoyed me, I almost gave up but thankfully didn’t as there was then a gap of a few years before we followed them again and that part covered several years during which much happened to both Jacob and Pria. Drama after Drama after Drama, and I do love those. Really tragic plots!! Nora, she was a great introduction – I do love someone to dislike and I was wary of her right from the first. Poor Jacob was ripe for the taking and he fell in neatly to her plans, and her effect on him lasted so long. I did feel that what happened in the beginning to separate Jacob and Pria was a bit thin, I could see exactly how it happened and that was real, but the way Jacob bore grudges years later when it was really his fault they lost contact seemed irritating. Still, that was needed, I just felt it could have been done a bit better, seemed unfair to Pria. I really liked the way so much was kept back and came out later in the story, so that just when i though that line wrapped up there was even more revealed…the last third was excellent, and really a five star read for me. Shame about the beginning…
Along with the issues I’ve mentioned I also felt things like Pria sister’s illness wasn’t very well done, she’s at death’s door when we first meet her and then after having told us she’s a record survivor at 26, we see her ten years on living a very different life, freer but there’s no operation, no medical breakthrough explanation given and it just invalidates all the sacrifice Pria made before. You can’t just mess about with CF, it isn’t a condition that gets better, and given she was in hospital with poor lung function when we first met her I just needed some kind of reference as to why things had changed. A transplant, a new medicine, something like that. Overall though, having dragged myself through the first third I’m glad I continued. The dramas were first rate for me, I love all that angst and the way it lasted – not one of those reads where its tears and heartbreak and then two pages later all over…I need to wallow and this book let me. It didn’t really matter to me that some of it was exaggerated, there was enough substance to justify what happened. The incident with Jacob and the police for example, towards the end. Could have been left out, but fitted in well, and provided another angst fix for me. I hadn’t read the first two books, and I think that would have helped. When I looked this up I assumed the stories were connected via family, but each would be a separate read, and this is true to a degree but there’s so much from earlier brought in this book that it would help to read the first two.
Stars: hmnn, hard to rate. I really didn’t like the first third but loved the third, and enjoyed very much the middle. A Four I think.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

