Hardwired, (The Hacker Series: Book 1), Meredith Wild


Hardwired, (The Hacker Series: Book 1), Meredith Wild
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance,
First in a five book series, with books 1-4 already out and book five due this autumn.
So, first thoughts were that the characters and some of their problems were very reminiscent of FSoG…no inner goddess though thankfully!! There’s Blake with his outgoing brother who ends up going out with Erica’s friend, his sister who’s very warm and friendly, his control issues, then like Ana Erica’s just finished Uni, and is very clever, add in her male friend and colleague Syd similar to Ana’s friend Jose…even an Elena seem-a-like in Sophia, Blake’s sort of ex….( I’m hoping she’s a permanent fixture – I love a good, meddling bitchy female main character!!) and you can see the comparison, even if its unintended. Fifty has any number of critics, but there are also many like me who got past the little irritations, the goddess, the odd cringing lines and enjoyed the story and psychology behind it. This also looks to have solid storyline backing the romance, and after finishing this part I’m keen to read more. Its got similarities in the characters, but the story itself takes a very different line, an original path and I really enjoyed it.
Erica, I love her. I admire her tenacity, her hard work, her belief in herself and her website. She’s struggled with her mother’s death and her lack of relatives, but come through on hard work and confidence. Its good to see someone getting  somewhere via their own work, and not some family hand-outs – that’s kind of inspirational and rewarding, and the way tech is current climate the right idea can work and make people very rich. Amazon, EBay, LastMinute and many other great sites started with just an idea. Even the massive Microsoft began in a spare room as a thin outline idea….
Erica’s got something in her past that scares her, and its some time before we find out what it is. Then it reaches forward and catches her in a big way. You can’t outrun your past, she tried but it needs dealing with, there’s no such thing as just trying to forget and move on. Likewise Blake has some issues from when he was much younger that are now giving him problems. These all round off the story, the connections that they are forging and affect the romance they’ve begun. It’s not without serious issues, Blake wants total control of his life and everything and everyone in it, and Erica rightly values her independence and won’t just roll over and let him run her life and business. That’s good and I admire her stance, it would be easy to take his money and succeed the easy way but the success wouldn’t feel like hers then. Better to try on one’s own even if it means failing, than to just coast with someone artificially keeping things afloat. No satisfaction that way IMO and I think in Erica’s view too.
The story centres around Blake and Erica’s steamy, sensual romance, and Erica’s fledgling business, with side appearances from her friends and Blake’s family. Its got enough originality to make it stand out, even though it shares character types with FSoG and others in the genre. Sadly after that success there are any number of copycat novels, hoping to emulate it, but few have the originality that this one does. I’m keen to read more and see just where the story goes next. Although it’s five episodes rather than the trilogy we see more often, this part is a decent length and each book is between 260-280 pages. Sometimes I feel books get divided to just make more money, or suit a perceived format, and when they’re in parts of 120-150 pages it seems to me that its just ripping off readers. Anything over 250 pages is fine for me, though of course I’d still like to have it all as one huge book!!! I usually find these series work best for me when all parts are out, and I can read back to back and get the whole story without stopping and waiting months for the next part. The waiting is frustrating and when they include ( not here thankfully) a cliff-hanger it makes me so irritated. If I’m buying rather than reviewing then I wait til the whole story is out. I’ve enjoyed this, want to read the next books and soon as book five is out I’ll be chasing amazon and getting them.
Stars: Five, sensual, steamy read with very realistic characters and setting.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

