Gathering Mist, Karla Brandenburg

 

Gathering Mist,  Karla Brandenburg
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance, women’s Fiction, Paranormal
well, hands up – I made a mistake…I saw there was an earlier book, but from the description I assumed they were two separate books around the same theme, as the characters were different. Wrong, it’s a trilogy, three books connected by an overall plot….but it was OK as I still found the storyline relatively easy to follow. Of course if I’d read book one I’d have known more about the overall plot, and the Kundigerin and Huters. It was still a good read, an interesting story, a romance, a puzzle and some serious danger to be worked out, and  with a paranormal slant just to add that bit more edge.
Giselle, her husband has recently died unexpectedly. She’s sad but not broken hearted, they had a kind of friendship marriage – at least on her part. Her heart was lost years ago to Scott, but he chose his band, saying she affected his concentration too much and would hold him back. He was scared of the intense passion between them. Turns out though that neither of them have forgotten the other, and in a strange way they’re brought back into each others orbit. That connection though that scared Scott is even more close now, and he doesn’t know what to do about it. He really annoyed me at times, seeming to blame Giselle, as if she’d conned him in some way. Now he knows she’s got these extra talents he’s even more wary, despite having been in love with her still. That got me too – 15 years and no-ones matched up and yet he hasn’t made any attempt to see her? Seemed a bit spineless to me, and really that’s how he feels for much of the novel, shilly shallying about, casting blame when he can’t stop himself from wanting her. He knows that when they first me she didn’t have this power, knows she didn’t ask for it, knows its bringing her into danger and yet all he can think about is me, me, me….When he won’t tell Giselle about Clay because his (Clay’s)  health is personal, even knowing it could be connected to and affect the very real danger she’s facing? What? Is the guy nuts? He didn’t have to tell all, just the basics, but he’s still playing at Ostrich, hiding from what he’s scared of and casting blame on everyone else. Towards the end he finally steps up, accepts her love and the wya he feels about her, takes his place and really shines, but God, it took some time and he fell low in my estimation until then.
Marissa and Wolf – and Max of course – were great. I think if I recall correctly they were the leads in the first book, and now they’ve joined forces with Scott and Giselle it makes them a strong team. They’ll need that though – it was tough here, lots to work out and little time and it seems the danger is growing exponentially. They need to work fast, learn what they can in the little time they have and hope they can stop the Demon.
Its a great read, full of danger, Legends, Ghosts, Demons and of course a side of romance…I look forward to reading the conclusion
Stars: Four.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

