Fury’s Kiss, New England Furies Book 1, Nicola R. White


Fury’s Kiss, New England Furies Book 1,  Nicola R. White
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Genre:  Romance, Fantasy and Sci-fi
I really enjoyed this book, it’s got for me the perfect blend of romance and fantasy. sometimes these reads are over dominated by the romance, and while I enjoy that side I really want a strong paranormal slant to the tale and I got just that here. I look forward to reading more in the series. Furies. an unusual thing to find in the paranormal genre…and yet another book I read only two days ago also had a Fury in it…strange co-incidence. ( Rachel Vincent’s Menagerie if anyone’s interested – another good read and first in series!)  I can’t think of the last time I read of one in a story, and was so surprised to find two at once.
Anyway, on with the book. I liked Tara, and understood just how shocked she was to find out what was happening to her. I liked that she was finding it difficult to cope, hard to accept. Some books have lead characters taking everything in their stride but Tara doesn’t want to let go of “her”, of the person she is and let the Fury inside her take over. Its a slow partnership but they find a way to work together finally that keeps them both happy. Then there’s Nora and Ruby, who’s more than she seems and such a cute girl. Of course Jackson, Ruby’s uncle is super protective of her, and despite the attraction that sears between him and Tara right from their first meet they have a fairly antagonistic approach to each other for quite some time. Tara thinks he’s a jerk, a handsome one granted, but he just jumps to conclusions about her and is convinced she’s going to bring trouble to Nora and Ruby. For a long time he  won’t take Nora’s word that there’s more to Ruby that just a cute kid, and she has the tools to help them. Of course Tara’s two good friends play a large part also, and that seems to be the main team for future books. I’m really keen to see where the story goes next.
In this episode Tara is being stalked, but by whom, and why and how does it link in to Ruby? For it soon becomes clear the group are all connected in some way, and that they’ve found each other for a reason. Its a fun read, not too dense and hard to follow, not too dominated by heavy fight scenes, no OTT adventures that get confusing, but lots of puzzles and mysteries to work out; who, why, how and what comes next but which are all laid out in a clear and logical way? And of course, not so over dominated by the romance as so many fantasy/paranormal reads are. Far too often the romance is really all the story consists of, but here there’s a solid and unusual story unfolding that I really enjoyed.
Stars: Five, a great read, well balanced and with an unusual fantasy plot.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers
If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Fury’s Kiss, New England Furies Book 1, Nicola R. White”

  1. jeanniezelos says :

    Hi Mary, that’s good to hear 🙂 I want to write reviews that help readers, I always check reviews when I’m buying, and even when choosing review books… I hate writing low star reviews, it always makes me feel guilty for not liking something the author has worked hard on, so I do try to stress when the book is fine it’s just my not gelling with the story. Its why I value reviews, I know if i see a 4 or 5 star from someone who shares a love of similar reads to me that it’s more likely I’ll enjoy it. Everyone wants different things from reads, I’m quite an eclectic reader so cover quite a wide span of genres so I’ve plenty of books to choose from, but do have to restrict myself or I end up with very long TBR list!! It’s currently creeping up again, and I’m trying hard not to ask for any but those I really, really want…so many books, so little time 😉

    I really appreciate you sharing my posts BTW, I get twitter notifications and when I see someone has shared a post it makes me feel my blog is useful. Thanks for that.

  2. Mary Smith says :

    I enjoy your reviews, even when they are for books in a genre I don’t usually read. I nearly always share them – unless you’ve very clearly not enjoyed a particular book and given it only two stars. Oh, and I usually don’t share erotica.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

