Anything but Broken, (Hurricane Creek 1), Joelle Knox

 

Anything but Broken, (Hurricane Creek 1),  Joelle Knox

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance,

Well, I adore the Kit Rocha books, and have enjoyed a few Moira Rogers reads so when the team set up this new writing genre/nom de plume I was keen to read. Its a sweet story, some very sensual scenes, though its a long long way from the Beyond stories!! Interesting how well the duo can write such different sex scenes.

I really felt for Hannah, its clear she’s kind of lost, kind of brittle and needs help but we don’t really know the cause. Slowly we learn more about her and her past. Sean knows it of course, up until she left at 15 but has no idea after that. Now she’s back, grown up and he sees  her very differently after she’s been gone so long. He’s attracted to her but holds back, she’s always had a crush on him even when he dated her sister, and now they’re grown that’s intensified.

They come together gradually, she starts to take control of her life, finds the courage with Sean’s help to make the changes she’s always wanted, though its a hard time for her and she struggles sometimes. Her confidence is really low, and she second guesses every decision she makes. When we learn more about her family, her upbringing and all the secrets I so felt for her. She has one big secret though, one that’s been impressed forcefully by her mother that she mustn’t reveal, and yet if she and Sean are to be together he needs to know….

Its a lovely story, very clever the way we just think things are going well, and yet there’s always more in store for Hannah, always something waiting to drag her back it seems. She’s really got no-one, Evie is a good friend of course and there’s Sean, but she’s only just picked up with them, she’s no family, and she thinks no one would miss her if she wasn’t there. Thats really tough for anyone and I could feel how alone she felt. Really sad, and when she let the last secret out I so wanted to just hug her.

Its not a drama filled read, there are lots of secrets, lots going on but it flows quite gently until that last big reveal – and then the drama was perfect, nicely prolonged, really given time to settle in. I need to feel the effects on people of issues, and too often for me its over in a couple of pages. Not so here ;- ) Loved that part. I’ll be keen to read further, now I feel I know more about the characters from around the town and how they fit together. Its clear Evie and Gibb have something brewing, and I’d like to read their story.

Stars: Four and a half, not quite the five but one I’d be happy to reread.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

