Tall, Dark and Immortal, Cat Devon

 

  Tall, Dark and Immortal,  Cat Devon

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, Fantasy/Paranormal

I’ve read the first book in this series, and the novella but somehow missed books two and three. It didn’t matter as I was able to slip seamlessly into the events surrounding Vamp Town. This is a fun series, light but with a decent backstory and easy to read. It’s got snippets of subtle humour creeping in every now and then that made me smile, and I really enjoyed the story. Its not a deep, heavy, brooding paranormal,full of blood, murders and drama, nor a light and fluffy type with alpha males grunting commands whilst peeling off the lady’s clothes…Its just a fun read, one you can put down and pick up without having to back track to recall the plot(s ).

I liked Kiera, gutsy to the point of foolhardy, though I did get a bit tired of the “ I’m a reporter…” refrain by the end. She jumps right in when she finds out about the blood thefts, having just discovered that vampires are real…and that her grandfather was a famous vampire hunter! She’s a personal interest in the blood thefts, her godson needs frequent transfusions and is a rare blood type, and without them he could die. So it seems to her axiomatic that the vampires would be involved – and she wades straight in. Alex, vampire detective, is astonished by her. He’s not sure whether to admire her bravery, or chastise her for being so stupid as to confront a vampire with accusations. He’s surprised at himself, she’s the last person he needs to be involved with and yet the sizzle between them, the way she just feels so right for him, can’t be ignored.

Its a fun read, building on past books, but one its easy to follow if like me you’ve not read all of them. Its a light but decent plot, allowing for some snarky humour and some great one liners, as well as bringing in a mystery to puzzle out. The search for who is responsible for the blood theft brings them both into danger, throws them even closer together and forces them both to take a closer look at the romance that seems unstoppable between them.

Stars: Five, it a really fun read, perfect for when you’ve not time to read a whole book but want one you can easily pick up the story when you’ve next got some free time.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

