Colours of Love – Uncovered by Kathryn Taylor

 

Colours of Love – Uncovered

by Kathryn Taylor

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  woman’s fiction, romance

I saw some great reviews for the first book, read the sample to get the background and dived eagerly into this one.

Grace is in a difficult place, in love with a man who says he doesn’t do love…or real commitment. I really liked her, she’s a hard worker, doesn’t expect favours because she’s dating the boss, and puts up with a lot from Jonathan. She has a tendency to dive in where angels fear to tread and all that sometimes though….Jonathan is a complex character and its clear now what’s behind his reserve, but equally clear he’s the only one that can change that, and he doesn’t seem to want to, even if he loses Grace because of it.

There’s some solid characters here and some really interesting plots developments, but I felt they didn’t really live up to what they could be. The event that happened at the Gala/charity Ball for example – my mind had run on all sorts of things behind it and I’d got a couple of suspects lined up, but it turned out to be a standard happening, nothing suspicious behind it. Then there’s Lady Imogen, I had high hopes for some byitch scenes with her, but really there was nothing much : –( I felt there was such rich potential for more drama in the scenes that were given and yet it just all felt very run of the mill…

Things with Jonathan are kind of touch and go all the way through, one moment he can’t keep his hands off her and the next she gets treated with ambivalence. That was tough for her, even more so now she knows she’s in love with him, and suspects he feels more for her that he will admit to. Then something happens which was so much like a development in one of my favourite reads, Kylie Scott’s novel Lead. Jonathan and Jimmy from Lead have the same issue, can’t/won’t commit to anyone, don’t believe in love, are very much emotionally closed off. When both are confronted with it they react the same and yet the plots go very divergent ways. In Lead it led to some great drama and emotional scenes that I loved, could wallow in, but here it somehow felt a bit flat. We’d got so close to the end of the book I had begun to wonder if their romance was ever going to develop further, and when this happened I was like – Yay, some emotional scene now. I do love some good drama, some tearful, emotional moments that really pull at me. I didn’t feel it though, I felt sad for Grace of course, she put her heart out there and was rejected, but I wasn’t gutted for her, didn’t feel she was hurt beyond repair.  So the events after didn’t feel so good as they would have done if I’d really despaired for her. Its a personal thing of course, everyone wants different things, but I just felt that although this was a good read, a very good one it could have been (for me) a great read.

Stars: Four, its a really good read for me, I just felt it could have developed a bit more drama and been a five. Still, for many readers this will be perfect as it is : –)

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

