A Mess of Reason, A. Wilding Wells

 
A Mess of Reason,  A. Wilding Wells

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance.
Well, this read has a slew of great reviews but…I should have read a sample first. I was drawn in though by the rock star leads – not just one but two! Throw in the chance of some Jealous rivals scenes and I was pressing the request button without my usual research. Big mistake – huge – as for me this was just a Mess of a Read. 😦
Its told in alternate POV chapters, but seemed to be almost a monologue of ramblings and regrets from both of them that could be summed up as “he/she is my best friend. If I act on my feelings we’ll lose that.” I didn’t really like either of them, so after forcing myself to about 40% and finding it was still the same conundrum being dragged out “ I fancy her/him but…I wish I’d…What if I kiss him/her?” along with both of them doing everything but actual sex, regardless of the feelings of her soon to be husband I was ready to abandon it. Guilt – they didn’t seem to feel any. How would she feel if her fiancé was doing that with his best female friend – or male for that matter 😉 ?
I was so bored I skim read, coasting through to see what happened. Its a book for me that was a bad choice on my part. I was looking for action, for plot development, for something – anything – to happen but there’s very little. It really just covers a few events in the couple of weeks prior to the wedding.
Tess is hiding a big secret too and when it comes out I kept thinking “ how? How did she hide that from her best friends and her fiancé ?” It just didn’t seem plausible the explanation given. Still….maybe if I’d liked the characters and story better I’d have gone along with it – who knows? Sadly this read was a Fail for me.

Stars: Two, just didn’t work for me. As ever though reading taste is subjective, this is just my view and there will be others that love this book.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.
If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

One response to “A Mess of Reason, A. Wilding Wells”

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

