What have I been reading recently?

What have I been reading recently?
Well, I read review books but also buy ones that appeal too, and after joining amazon Kindle Unlimited (KU) I’ve had quite a few via there. Its great for readers like me who devour books. So this is a quick recap of what I’ve read over the past couple of months in addition to review books.
I finally finished Pippa Dacosta’s Veil series – that’s been excellent, though as always she didn’t get the guy I was rooting for – why is it I seem drawn to the guys that don’t get the girl? Still, this series is more than romance, its one where the heroine goes through so much, with demons out for blood, humans working to create super-soldiers etc and the romance angle is just a minor thread – that’s how I like my paranormal reads.
Shelby Rebecca’s Phoenix Rising duo The Stage and The Tour was a fun read, not a five star but a good rock band read that I enjoyed. .
Lisa Swallow: Falling Sky and Summer Sky. another rock band romance, though the band angle is minor
L.H.Cosway: Hearts of Fire – I love her books, the way she melds the romance into an amazing story full of surprises and mysteries. This is now on KU too. 
Elizabeth Hunter’s The Scarlet Deep – spin off from the Elemental Mysteries – they are a great read and book one is free.
Carrie Elks wonderful Coming Down ( Love in London) Carrie is another author who’s books I usually love. another on KU
Lexi Ryan’s Lost in Me, ( Here and Now series ) another favourite author. Currently free 
I’ve been re reading D.B. Reynolds Vampires in America series – one of my favourite paranormal reads. Real vampires, arrogant, blood drinking and powerful
Karina Halle The Offer – she writes great contemporary novels and paranormals.

Her Experiment in Terror series is terrific . First was on my kindle for ages before I finally got to it, over a year or so, and then just devoured the rest of the series.
I’ve been through J.C. Andrijeski’s Allie’s War series again – the first one of that is free . If you like a solid and complex paranormal read, with some hot sex and books that are loooong this is perfect. even the “novellas” – books about individuals or situations are mostly longer than many so called full length reads!
I finally finished the last one in Kim Harrisons Hollows series – a fabulous read full of vampires, demons, witches and other Supernaturals. Rachel Morgan the heroine is a great lead. Amazing how much she grew and changed throughout the series. Trent too – I’d never havethought I’d end up loving him, or having a soft spot for Demon Al.
Genevieve Jack and the Knight Games reads – another great supernatural read where book one is free. The Ghost and the Graveyard: Knight Games, Book 1
I’m now on the last in the Kathleen Turner series – Tiffany Snow – its a very OTT read at times where it seems poor Kathleen goes from one life threatening drama to the next, often two in a day! But hey-its fiction, and all the dramas are connected so it doesn’t seem quite so unlikely that way. Its a fun, sexy read, lots of emotion, suspense and danger and one I’ve enjoyed. Another KU read 
I’ve started Colleen Vanderlinden’s Supernatural series, with Lost Girl being book one – again its a KU read.
Nalini Singh latest guild hunter novel Archangels Enigma, a cracking read. I love this series where there’s an overall solid story arc and each book usually focuses on one set of characters, or one part of the story, so we don’t get those awful, hateful cliff-hangers. This one features Naasir, a character I’ve long wanted to read more of – I’m hoping a future book features Venom, he’s another that I think has a fascinating backstory tucked away.
Then there’s the final read in Charlie Homberg’s Magician series – I’d had books one and two for review and book three was on KU so I read that. A great finish to the series. Its a YA read but one of those which will appeal to all ages.
I’ve read more, but flicking back through my recent history brought up these that I’ve enjoyed, some I’ve had for ages, some new but all destined to be added to my favourites file. Had a few fails too books I started and didn’t finish, or those where I did finish but was disappointed….it happens ;- ) Maybe I’ll write about those sometime!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “What have I been reading recently?”

  1. jeanniezelos says :

    thanks Mary, I tend to be on the mood for certain genres at different times so like to have several on my kindle ready for what takes my fancy….I’ve always been an avid reader haunting charity shops and library but since getting my kindle I’ve discovered so many more reads. My eye sight has deteriorated so much now that I can’t read print books – just can’t see the text – so Kindle really is a great idea for me. mine goes everywhere with me…..

  2. Mary Smith says :

    Love the variety of books you read. I know reading your reviews if one day it’s a genre I don’t read, the next day will have something quite different.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

