Stealing His Heart, (Kingston Heat 1), Ella Jade

Stealing His Heart, (Kingston Heat 1), Ella Jade

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance,

I’ve read a few baseball reads now – here in the UK its not a major sport, that’s Football and Cricket…but I’ve kind of picked up the way its so important in US that the top players become stars. I still don’t understand too much of the game itself but I can get pulled along with the excitement anyway.

I loved Sophia and her family, the closeness they shared, her love of the sport that her dad had given to her, and the way they still got such pleasure from going to matches with each other, discussing and dissecting the play. Her enthusiasm over teaching music came through too, and she was clearly a popular person at the school. She’s a genuinely nice lady,and reading about her past, the ex who let her down so badly, I could understand why she’d kind of withdrawn from dating. She’s the kind of person that knocks like she received from the jerk have a huge impact. She can’t shrug it off as others would – her friend Maggie for example. She’s another lovely lady but very different, and she’d be able to just put it behind her and think “ what a jerk”. People cope in such different ways.

Maggie is determined its time for Sophia to pick up her romantic life again, and says a one night stand is the way to go. Her new boyfriend works for the local team and provides the “in” to meeting some of the players in a local club. Maggie knows many of them love the attention and will be happy to give Sophia a good night, and bring her out of her past and into the present.

Sophia isn’t really a one night girl though, but reluctantly agrees to go with her. She meets Pax there – and he’s delighted to find the mystery lady he bumped into by “accident “ that morning. He’s known for his playboy/manwhore ways but he sees Sophia as different, and wants suddenly what he’s always dismissed. More than one night, more than a fleeting affair and he respects her. They start dating and for a while life is perfect.

It’s a fun read, flows well and has some great characters. I loved the addition of Pax’ long time friend, he played a perfect role and I understood him well. Pax was lovely, and he really knew his past was something he had to work to prove to Sophia that it was his past, that with her he was different. I really enjoyed this, great romance build up, perfect drama and knock down. I do love the intensity of the dramatic parts and it worked well here. There’s some great sexy, sensual love scenes too – well written, not the stomach cringing ones, no man meat, no love buttons, no fluttering, quivering openings ( really they make the vagina sound like a butterfly) – argh I hate terms like those – so it was great to read some scenes that used erotic phrases, not those awful type ones we see too often. One day I’m going to compile a list of terms that are used but sound so awful..anyway – Hurrah, none of ‘em here!

 

Stars: Five, a sexy, spicy read and a great romance.

ARC supplied by author.

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Stealing His Heart, (Kingston Heat 1), Ella Jade”

  1. Mary Smith says :

    Great review.
    I’d love to see your compilation of icky words when youve done it! I know someone who refers to her vagina as her rose. I didn’t know what she talking about at first.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

