Exhibition, Nicolette Hugo

 

Exhibition by Nicolette Hugo

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, Erotica

I wasn’t sure what to expect here, if it would be one of those reads where the story is concentrated in just a few days, or whether it would be longer. I’ve enjoyed a few of the first type, but really I like best those where the characters have time to get to know each other, where the romance gets to develop more slowly, and where we get to understand more of the characters. That’s what happened here.

I really felt I was getting to understand Grace, to feel for her. She seems one of those people who on the surface are confident and secure, successful career, home, and outwardly confident, and yet under all that she was hurting. Hurting so much, punishing herself for something long past. She needs kink, needs what it can give her, a sense of freedom it seems to me, and yet she’s been away from it for a while, trying to stay vanilla. One of her hospital colleagues who saw her after her last disastrous episode seems to think all kink is wrong, and he’s been trying to convince her she doesn’t need it, that he can give her what she wants if she’ll just let him in. Its a common theme it seems in real life, that there are people who don’t just enjoy kink, but really need it, for whom it fulfils something in them, and yet those who aren’t into it often see it as dirty, unsavoury, perverse and try to make people like Grace ashamed of their needs.

Jason isn’t one of those, he’s a Dom through and through, and can see what Grace needs. Posing for him she’s his muse, and while working on the photographs for the exhibition he’s also giving her what she needs. Its only three weeks they have but in that time they share so much and learn things about each other, get so much closer. Then – well, of course, something happens and it all falls apart just when it was going so well….I always want to shout at the characters when that happens, to say “ Why! What are you doing? Thinking?” and of course if they listened to me it would be a dull read…that’s why I’m a reader not a writer ; –) I loved the way that part was given time to develop, not just brushed past in a few days but weeks, where each had time to assess what they’d done, to think about the issues. I was so sad for them both, and of course they’re both thinking the wrong things about how the other feels, and I was wondering how on earth Nicolette could bring them back together, or even if she could, or if Jason’s ex, Audrey, or someone else would get in the way.

Its a really emotional read as well as being very erotic, and full of drama. Lots to think about, how simple misunderstandings can have such huge influences, how individuals want or need different types of sexual relationships, and get satisfaction in very particular ways. There’s no right or wrong in sex so long as each party is happy and yet so many people still see any kink as wrong.

It’s a book I really enjoyed, made me think about things, made me really feel for Grace and Jason. Logan and Mia too – I’d like to know more of them, and where they go from here.

Stars: Five.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

