Slashed, An Extreme Risk Novel, Tracy Wolff

 

Slashed, An Extreme Risk Novel,  Tracy Wolff

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance,

We’re on to book three, and its a series I’m really loving. Its got all the elements a good NA series needs,a solid story, plenty of  drama, lots of emotion and of course a romance between two characters that seem to have everything preventing them from getting together but who you love so much you’re just rooting for them to finally find their way through the barriers.

The four friends, Z, Luc, Ash and Cam have known each other for many years and are all top rated snowboarders. When I began this series I was worried that knowing nothing – absolutely nothing – about boarding would hamper my enjoyment but it doesn’t, somehow I’m pulled into the excitement and dangers along with the characters. I feel I’m there with them, and for me that’s the best kind of story, where I feel like I’m part of it. I love the way the action and scenes are described. There’s one part where Luc is out in the streets just as dawn is breaking,  and it’s  the first snow of the season, and that reminded me so much of nights when Ii have issues sleeping and like to get up and watch the dawn rise. When its snowing – and that’s not often here in UK – its just magical seeing the purity of the landscape, feeling like you’re the only one around, that what you see is somehow special to you. Luc’s words encompassed all that, and its why Tracy’s novels are so vivid to me – the characters feel real, say and see things as I would.

Cam – right from book one we’ve seen how she longs for Z to love her, she’s craved him from afar for so long. Luc has strong feelings for her but against Z he feels he doesn’t stand a chance, even though Z is now happily in a relationship with Ophelia. Luc just cements his place in the group as the happy guy, the one that keeps things on an even keel and keeps his feelings hidden. We don’t really know that much of him til this book, where we see just why he feels so second class. His parents seem to have focussed all their energy on his twin sister, a world class musician, and even though he’s one of the top boarders in the world it never seems to be quite enough for them. He’s been alone now for several years as they moved for the benefit of his twin’s career leaving him with his friends when he was just a teen. Knowing that makes it easy to understand why despite being so good he feels its not enough, that his friends “carry” him, and yet he’s incredibly talented at certain types of boarding.

Cam’s mum left her and her dad and six brothers seventeen years ago and had no contact since – now out of the blue she’s back, and its like the return of the prodigal mum as far as the rest of her family are concerned. She’s feeling on edge anyway because of something between her and Luc a few months back that’s made their friendship  awkward, and she just can’t accept her mum back as the others do. Poor Cam, I felt for her, and understood her confusion but her actions after just bring her even more dramas…she’s there staying with Luc, sleeping with him in some kind of frenzied lust and they seem to go backward and forward over their friendship and what this new development means. Each is too afraid to actually ask the other how they really feel. Cam’s developing feelings for Luc but convinced he sees her as a friend, he’s too overshadowed by what he thinks she feels for Z to tell her how he feels, and convinced she’s just doing some kind of friends with benefits thing. Then just to add to their dilemmas another major spanner gets thrown in the works. Can they make it through or will this be the end for them? I was so wanting them to just talk, dammit, talk to each other, but they both hold back and of course that’s what the story needs. If they did talk that would end the story far too soon!! Its was fun too seeing how Z and Ophelia and Ash and Tansy are doing in there respective relationships – I enjoy that kind of catch up in these stand alone but connected novels. Its a bit like meeting friends you’ve not seen for a while.

It’s a shortish read at 2628 kindle locations ( I can’t find page info) but its very reasonably priced at just £1.36, and add in that its one I’d happily re read and that makes it a real bargain. There’s one more book to come according to Goodreads and I’m curious who that’s going to feature as we’ve covered the four friends already…Logan maybe if its set a few years on? I can’t really think of anyone else.

Stars: Five, another great romance full of action, drama and emotion.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Slashed, An Extreme Risk Novel, Tracy Wolff”

  1. Mary Smith says :

    Looking at the cover and the title, this is a book I’d not pick up as it doesn’t seem something to interest me but your review makes this sound really good and a book I’d enjoy.

    • jeanniezelos says :

      this has been a fun series, each book is complete but its involving a group of four friends. Re covers – seems every romance now has to have a man in a wifebeater vest or a hoodie….I don’t really look at covers except to get put off by certain ones and maybe of I’d not already read some of tracy’s past work I’d have passed on this.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

