Crazy Over You, Carol Thomas

 

Crazy Over You, Carol Thomas

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, Women’s fiction

This isn’t the meet, split, get together and HEA type of romance that’s very common, but one that’s a bit deeper. We see how Abby and Simon met all those years back, fell in love so quickly, how they’ve been so close ever since and now after two children poor Abby has discovered that he had an affair recently. A short one of just a week but even so – the betrayal….Its now a few months post discovery and Abby is floundering, finding it hard to cope. Simon makes it clear he wants her back, regrets what he did,  but what does she want? Does she still love him? Can she forgive? Can she ever get past this? So many questions, and it really made me think. There’s times when she’s mulling it over and angry and asking herself did She, Her,  – the mysterious Helen – care that Simon was married? Had kids? That’s something I feel too – an affair is wrong, always, every time. think before acting, think of what’s at stake. Sort out home issues first and never get entangled in someone whose got a partner. I’m very strong on this – don’t have patience with the “it just happened” “we fell in love” type of excuse. Everything has a starting point, and there’s a clear divide between innocent flirty chat and taking things that step further. Stop right there is my view. Affairs cause such heartbreak, destroy families, upset kids and their homes and schooling and can be stopped before they start.

So with that rant over its clear I really feel for poor Abby and I can see she’s struggling – and who wouldn’t? When she finally begins to pick herself up and seeks counselling I felt like I was there with her, thinking about the questions Mallory posed and gradually we saw how far Abby had come, and I so admired her. She’s stronger than she felt, and I loved that her new friend encouraged her to go to the gym, to get new clothes and haircuts etc. She needed that boost to her self esteem. Its never happened to me thankfully but I can imagine how many people look at themselves and feel less, feel that they must be lacking if their partner wanted someone else. When she’s writing in her book about the questions she had, those where whatever answer Simon gave he’s be wrong I could so see that happening.

All the way through this I really wasn’t certain what the outcome would be. Simon was clear that on his part he acknowledged he was wrong, and had no intention of doing it again, but I really didn’t know if Abby could move forward with him or whether the betrayal was just too much to get past. It made me think how I would feel, and I understood that though she still had feelings for Simon, for now they were overshadowed by what happened. Carol kept me guessing right to the end about what would be the result – and its not often that happens, usually its clear which way things are going but not here! A great read, and it looks like its a debut book too – I can’t find anything else, so well done Carol for a thought provoking, entertaining read.

 

Stars: Five

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, so I can make future reviews more helpful.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Crazy Over You, Carol Thomas”

  1. Mary Smith says :

    This sounds like my kind of read – another one for the already overwhelming tbr pile.

    • jeanniezelos says :

      so many great books so little time – that’s how it feels sometimes. I have to restrict myself occasionally especially with review books or I start to feel pressured to get them read. A 36 hour day or only needing 3-4 hours sleep would be great for me 😉

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

