Frosh: First Blush, (Frosh 1), Mónica B. Wagner

 

Frosh: First Blush, (Frosh 1),  Mónica B. Wagner

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, New Adult

This read reminds me very much of Abbi Glines/Jessica Sorensen/Colleen Hoover style. I’ve read a few of theirs, I wouldn’t want to make them my mainstay but sometimes I just want an easy relaxing read, with the fabulous drama and intensity that comes from books around this age group.

Oddly I’d just started reading K A Linde. Off the Record series as its on kindle unlimited ( yep – even though I get lots of review reads I still buy books and joined KU last month as several favourite authors have books there, and lots of complete series/trilogies – I hate to wait for endings) I had only got to 20% when I started this book and it’s about ( older characters ) a reporter dating a politician who she’s got to write a profile for…  I stopped as I don’t like reading two similar books at a time when one is a review – made that mistake before and got totally confused about who and what was in each book….Shall continue now I’ve finished this one.

So, what I love about this genre is the drama, and it’s here in spades. In general the 18-21 age group make everything about them, very personal and every issue is a drama, every drama a crisis, and every crisis is simply Earth Shattering/ Heart Breaking. It makes it fun, reads like this that capture that intensity feel very real. I loved the four viewpoints way of writing too – I’m a great fan of this style as it really lets me see what each character thinks, and sometimes what one person is convinced another is doing/saying/meaning is so far from the truth.

In this read I really enjoyed the setting and the age group- sometimes authors write this group to feel more like early teens and I can’t get on with that. Its fun too seeing how in US alcohol is such a large part of uni life even though legal age is 21, here in UK its 18 but it seems that it really doesn’t matter, each group acts the same. I enjoyed the way Monica set out the characters at the beginning, and made me feel one way about some of them  and yet I felt very differently about them by the end when I knew them better – except for Charlie. Like other reviewers I just love Charlie, he’s so true to life, such a  genuine and lovely person. He’s a bit younger than the others, one of those bright kids who move up early and in some ways it shows. He’s got an incredible intelligence and yet growing up comes to everyone differently, and he just seems to still have that naive, finding his feet air about him. I felt for Ellie, she’s so determined to find The Story, and yet when she gets to know Grant better her first ideas about him as a typical Jock type seem to be wrong – or are they? They and Devon and Charlie go back and forth, thinking one thing and then seeing things that change their minds. Not everything is as it appears, and we can see already that there’s some real undercurrents brewing that begin to explode by the end of the book. There’s two more planned, so I’m sure we’ve lots more surprises and tears to come and I look forward to reading them.

Stars: Five, a really fun read with some cracking dramatic intensity and hints of future surprises unfolding

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, so I can make future reviews more helpful.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

