Learning to Speak American, Colette Dartford

 

Learning to Speak American,  Colette Dartford

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, Women’s Fiction

Well, for a debut novel this is simply incredible. It kept me hooked to the page right to the end. It’s packed full of emotion and so, so realistic.

To start with I felt so sorry for Duncan, he was trying so hard to help Lola with her depression since their young daughter died, but she was in a grey fog, drifting aimlessly, and not even trying. Then on a morning out while on holiday they come across a derelict property for sale. She’s enthused about it, it pulls to something in her and Duncan is so pleased he arranges to buy it. From there my opinions began to change, we leant more about them and see from the outside that each are dealing – or not dealing – in their own way. Duncan is buttoned up, refuses to talk about their daughter and throwing himself into getting Lola better. Hobbies, counselling, anything but letting her talk to him about her. Lola just wants to talk, not treat their daughter as if she didn’t exist, and over the two years since the accident they’ve drifted. I felt she was so cold to Duncan when he was trying so hard, I didn’t like her but as I knew more of her I saw another side. They’re still on holiday when the cottage purchase starts to bring her forward, and she responds to Duncan as she hasn’t in a long while. Their love life had fizzled out, Lola just wasn’t interested for so long and now it looks to be sparking alive again.

Duncan’s having work issues too though, but he doesn’t talk to Lola about them, and that harks back to his upbringing and the Stiff Upper Lip British way of men coping.  He’s very traditional, he spends long hours at work, never really switches off, he deals with money and bills, and Lola runs the home and her livery yard, which he treats as a kind of hobby. They live outside London and he has a long journey into work each day, and often stays over when work ends late. Things get worse for him at work when he loses an important contract, and the stress pushes him further into actions he rationalises as OK.

Lola gets more and more involved in the new property and the people there. We can see slowly how what was supposed to bring them back together is having the opposite effect. I was really annoyed at Duncan, didn’t understand how he could reconcile his actions, how he could justify himself like that. Of course he’s doing what most people do, thinking up reasons to rationalise and excuse what we know isn’t right but what we want to do. He’s human not a saint! I felt for him even when I was angry at him. I felt for Lola finally coming out of her depression just as things as going so badly for Duncan and he’s keeping her in the dark about it all. He’s very old fashioned and the age difference between them leads him to treat her as if she’s a child in a way. If they’d just talked she could have helped…but then we wouldn’t have this fabulous story.

Its a story that could happen to anyone, and so full of emotion. I so felt for both of them, was desperate for things to change for the better, for them to be happy. The death of a child is something no parent should have to deal with. I loved Treetops, the people around and involved in it. They felt so real, were so warm and welcoming even when they’d had their own issues. There’s some shocks here, things come out that no-one expects, and its a wonderful read. I’m a true romantic at heart, I want happy endings for everyone and here I got it. I finished it feeling very satisfied at the way things worked out, but it wasn’t at all as I’d thought it would be when I began reading…

.

Stars: Five, an emotional journey and fabulous début book. .

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

image001 image002 image003

Tags: , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

One response to “Learning to Speak American, Colette Dartford”

  1. Mary Smith says :

    This sounds really good – another for the wish list.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

