Rock Me Two Times by Dawn Ryder

 

Rock Me Two Times

by Dawn Ryder

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance,

 

First in Dawn Ryder’s sizzling new Rock Band series.  I really enjoyed it and will be keen to read more. I really enjoy the Band/Film star trope so seeing this I was keen to read and it was well worth the time.

 

Syon is a real jerk at first, and I just couldn’t feel I was going to like him – and that’s a big issue for me….but as I continued and got to know him better I could see why he acted this way. Part is just going with the flow, rock star expectations and availability of limitless sex, and part seems to be a defence almost like doing something before he’s accused, and never getting involved more than the minimum needed for sex means he keeps himself closed off to emotions. He knows the groupies don’t want him, the real man, but the rock star persona that is a facade. Of course when he sees Kate and wants her he’s shocked at first that she doesn’t give in the ways the groupies always do, but there’s something between them and somehow he just can’t give in. The moves he makes to get her shock himself, and he questions his feelings and actions but he just can’t let her go.

 

Kate’s been disappointed by the fame thing before, when an ex found fame and treated her badly. Now she has her rules, no married men, no drugs, no rock/film stars. She’s firmly set on growing her business with her partner, the adorable Percy, who’s got a huge crush on Syon ( and the rest of the band it seems) and is strongly encouraging her to have a fling with him. Syon opens up a travelling costumer position for Kate – the band all wear leather, wear it hard and their wardrobe is in sad need of renovation. Its not just a sop position – image is all and they’re a very keen and ambitious group so sub par clothing isn’t acceptable to them. Kate is the best, and they want the best. She’s not keen on spending time in such close proximity but she can’t turn it down, it’ll be the making of her company, offering opportunities not to be missed, giving unparalleled publicity to it and designer rights after the tour and her job finishes.

Its a shock to both of them how strong their feelings are, and they both fight making it more than just sex. Kate can’t deal with the insecurity of groupies and all that would bring, Syon can’t give up what he thinks makes him the person he is. Nevertheless he finds his attraction to others has waned, Kate is all he wants.

 

Its a fun read with some underlying plots involving other band members and people involved in the tour. Its quite a light read, not hard to follow and I’d guessed one of the main issues, but its still a fun read with some very sensual sex scenes. I really want to know more about Taz and his ex girlfriend – maybe he’s book two? I hope so ;- )

One thing: Spotted Dick. Its an old English dish, currants in a steamed suet pastry, origins from the 1800’s. Its not Custard, though its usually served with custard. To be honest it’s rarely seen on menus unless its a wartime or historical special. Calling it Custard is like calling a Big Mac a pickle….. and though we have lots of pub quizzes it’d be a pretty unusual prize!!

Stars: Four and a half, not quite a five, a bit light for that but a really fun read, that I’d happily reread and look forward to more.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, in case I’ve inadvertently added a spoiler and need to edit.

Tags: , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

