On Our Own Terms Adelaide Hipwell

On Our Own Terms  Adelaide Hipwell

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance,

I like second chance romance and rock band romance so this was a no brainer, and I expected to enjoy it. And I did, but it didn’t quite have that magic spark I was hoping for that makes a five star read for me. Its a well deserved Four though and a story I was drawn into.

One of the things I really liked was that Harriet wasn’t some poor downtrodden waitress/bar tender/shopworker living in squalid conditions etc. waiting to be rescued by the Hero, (they have their place of course but sometimes its good to read about other types). Nope, she was incredibly clever, and had made millions through the sale of her apps technology. Money doesn’t bring happiness though and poor Harriet was devastated, gutted, had all her confidence sapped when her long time boyfriend and business partner is caught cheating…She leaves Australia and goes to stay for a while in LA with her sister and family, the adorable twins, lovely husband and Bitch Face and Sour Puss the pets. Their next door neighbour is none other than grown up teen boy band sensation Ned.

I loved Ned, he was such a gorgeous man, very natural and down to earth. He was tired of all the promo stuff they went through, tired of the hype and the pressure that led to one of the band members to attempt suicide and his feelings of guilt for not doing more. The guys from 4G are still close friends though, and we see all of them here in this book, see them grown up, pursuing other things but those teen pressures still affect them all. Ned’s attracted to Harriet instantly ( I LOVED their meeting where one of the twins was…well, read it!!), but oddly though they are both successful people they each think they’re not good enough for the other – its that old thing that haunts many of us, confidence, do we have what’s needed, can that special someone really want to be with us, when they are surrounded by people more successful, more intelligent, more handsome/beautiful, thinner/better body….nearly everyone has hang-ups about themselves somewhere, and sometimes they play on our minds too much.

They spend more and more time together, we see more of Harriet’s and her sister’s friends and the rest of 4G, and its a fun read. Usual spats with the media – they so annoy me the way they haunt celebrities, intrude on their privacy, but sadly those images sell and that’s why people suffer – why do people want to see private pictures, believe all the lies….? Still, it provides some great plots for the book, and adds that touch of realism that I so need. I really liked Ned and Harriet, thought they were perfect for each other, but they seemed to have not only their own inner voices to overcome but outside pressures too.

Its a story I really enjoyed, and I loved the way the band used their celebrity and the things that had happened to them to support a much needed cause. I spoke about realism earlier – that part felt very genuine, and sadly I can imagine just that happening today. I feel for some of the young celebrities around, surrounded by those who just want to make money from them and aren’t at all concerned about them as people, about their welfare or health. This part of the plot was all too real but Adelaide turns it to the good in the end.

Overall there’s a fabulous blend of romance and humour here with some wonderful one liners and snark, and I really want to read more from Adelaide. Its an excellent start for her writing career with this first novel.

 

Stars: Four, a terrific first book.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, so I can make future reviews more helpful.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

