More Than Once, A Chasing the Dream Novel, Elizabeth Briggs

More Than Once, A Chasing the Dream Novel, Elizabeth Briggs

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, NA

I loved the first and third books in this series, but the second, Hector and Tara, ( Andrew’s Ex) didn’t quite make it for me and I feel the same kind of way about this book. Its a good story, but I was hoping for a great one as with the first and third books…
We knew a bit about Becca from earlier reads, but this time we see her POV and she’s a kind of lost, troubled girl, unsure of what she wants to do, lost without her music and it just looks like she’s always been struggling with a fierce need for approval. Sadly her past has made her parents see her in a jaundiced way, what they want her to be and what she needs to be isn’t going to happen, but they can’t see it and she’s breaking her spirit trying to fit what they want. I so felt for her and yet previously I’d just dismissed her as a flake….
Then along comes Andrew, Tara’s ex and the spark they had months ago at the Comic Con is still there. He doesn’t want to risk his heart again though, doesn’t want another relationship. Becca is still trying hard to prove herself to her family, and her latest man, the one she hoped would help her with that, has just dumped her just hours before he’s finally going to meet them. Becca knows that she’ll be held to blame once more even though she couldn’t do anything about it, so she comes up with her scheme to substitute Andrew for him. But “oh what a tangled web….” etc. and of course it all falls apart just at the wrong time. Somehow though Andrew and Becca have one date, then another, and lots and lots of hot, dirty and sensual sex but declare themselves just friends. Who are they kidding?? Becca can feel that creeping sensation that maybe, just maybe, Andrew means more to her – but is he over his ex? Then throw in an invite to her to re-joining the band for just one show, and a chance meeting between Andrew and Tara and once more everything goes to pot.

Its got all the elements I love but somehow I never quiet felt the drama, the emotion, the worry that things really couldn’t/wouldn’t go right for them. Maybe after the fun and dramas of earlier books I just set my expectation too high? I don’t know, its just that though it was a good read I needed a bit more. Not everyone wants that though and of course for many many readers this will be perfect as it is. Horses for courses and all that…. .

Stars: Three, a good read but just not as dramatic and emotional as I wanted.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, so I can make future reviews more helpful.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

