Intimate, Kate Douglas

 

Genre:  Romance,

I’d read a couple of Kate’s paranormals and thought this – a romantic suspense novel – sounded interesting.

From the start I really liked both Kaz and Jake, and could feel their chemistry. That made the story so much more real for me, and I need that edge of believability. I loved the descriptions of the jewels and the settings when they were on the shoot, could visualise them perfectly,  and of course how their attraction ( Kaz and Jake not the jewels!!)gave the photos a very sensual edge. It wasn’t long before that attraction turned to some steaming and erotic sex scenes, and these fitted the novel perfectly. Sometimes they’re overdone and take up too much of the story, but the balance here was perfect for me.

I liked Kaz friends too – a loyal duo and I guess we’ll be seeing more of them in later books. I enjoyed the way the background of both Kaz and Jake was hinted at, and came out in dribs and drabs until towards the end we get the whole story. There’s so much to enjoy about this novel – the characters, the pacing, the suspense and danger which felt very genuine that it ought to be a five star read for me but….I had real trouble with the way Jake kept the texts to himself even when it was clear Kaz was in danger, and the way she didn’t tell him of the later incidents when she was alone given they’d had a couple when together and they’d grown very close. It came close to being some TSTL moments, and I hate those,  and for me this let the novel down, it just didn’t feel how either of them would act…Still, apart from that it was a terrific read and one I enjoyed.

Stars: Four, almost a five if not for those TSTL bits.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

If you enjoyed my review I’d love it if you would please click “Like” and if you didn’t I’d love to know why, so I can make future reviews more helpful.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

7 responses to “Intimate, Kate Douglas”

  1. Kate Douglas says :

    Thanks for your review, Jeannie, and I have to agree that I really hate the TSTL moments in stories, too. Of course, I can NEVER see something like that in my own writing, though in this case telling Kaz about the texts would have meant telling her about his past, and Jake is too big a coward in the beginning to come clean with her. And Kas is sort of the same, protecting herself and her past without thinking beyond the personal embarrassment of her own past. On the other hand, I’ve had more of my own personal TSTL moments, which is probably why I don’t always see them in my characters.

    I know that you’re (reviewers) all so frickin’ busy, that I really do appreciate your taking the time to read my book and write a thoughtful review. I honestly do pay attention to what reviewers say about my work, and whenever possible I try not to do it in the following books.

    Best to you,
    Kate

    • jeanniezelos says :

      Hi Kate, yes I can see that telling her and vice versa would have defeated the whole point of the novel, taken out what made up the dangers but it just didn’t feel right. Still I’ve no idea how else you could have done it 🙂 helpful eh? That’s why I’m not a writer just a reader….I tried writing many years back but what I came out with was dull, boring, stilted and I decided from there that writings best left to others!

      TSTL moments – ah, I’ve had too many of them too. Sometimes the connection between brain and action isn’t always clear. Its easy for readers and reviewers to be critical though, especially like me when we can’t come up with anything better but I also feel I have to write what I thought about a story otherwise the whole review is pointless. I do try not to be just negative though, but inevitably some books I chose aren’t what I thought they’d be and I just hate writing low star reviews, much rather be doing four and five star ones. I know some authors never read them, and some like you do and try to see where we’re coming from, and its always good to hear back from authors.

      • Kate Douglas says :

        Honestly, I figure that when a reviewer points out something that bothers them, that it’s probably bothered a lot of readers, too, so reviews that actually point things out are important. It’s up to me to figure out how not to do it again, or if I do, to make it work. I’m almost 66 (next month) and I’ve got around 75 novels and novellas published, but I’m still learning. I hope I never stop learning.

        One thing that reviewers often rag me on is the “insta-love” in my stories, but honestly, that’s what I know. The first time I met my husband, I told my friend I was going to marry him. One week after my divorce was final (training marriage–bad choice on my part!) Doug and I were married. That was almost 44 years ago, so I always want to write to those reviewers and say that insta-love or not, it really CAN work!

      • jeanniezelos says :

        I don’t often have issues with insta-love, only odd times when the couple just don’t feel right for each other and there’s nothing but lust between them….met my husband at 16, I was strongly attracted to him on first sight but love took a couple of months..we married ten days after my eighteenth birthday, parental disapproval!! next year we’ll hit our forty year anniversary. Love’s an odd thing, hits people differently.

      • Kate Douglas says :

        aHA! You DO understand. You realize, of course, that it’s actually insta-LUST, and when it leads to more we’re just damned lucky. And congratulations on your upcoming 40th. That’s a pretty amazing milestone when you look around you at the number of marriages that don’t have what it takes.

  2. Mary Smith says :

    What’s TSTL?

    • jeanniezelos says :

      Too stupid to live. there are moments when Kaz does stuff that just isn’t right, that in her current situation only an idiot would do. Its needed to make the plot work but a better way could have been found to deliver the same result.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

