Carpe Demon A Carus Novel, Book 3 by J. C. McKenzie

 

amazon UK buy link

 

 

 

Genre:  fantasy paranormal. Romance

Well, onto book three and of course when I got to the end I feel like I need book four now – luckily for me the author had given me an ARC, and for all of you who are just as impatient it’s out soon, next month in fact, so not too long to wait. Once again the story plunges straight into the dramas. Its a series that full of action, with poor Andy right in the centre. She’s still with the SRD but as an Ambassador rather than an agent, though Booth is gone and the obnoxious Agent Tucker is out to get rid of Andy. He’d better join the list, as it seems to be an ever growing number  after her.

She’s still trying to find out more about her role as Carus and her family. Without much success, but who knows what’s round the corner. There’s still the Wick/Tristan triangle. They’re both great guys but for me Wick has the edge. Whether that’s because she met him first I don’t know – I just feel they fit together so well,  and he was so patient with her when she was really being difficult. He understood her reactions and allowed for them and that’s where he scores for me. Tristan is patient too, but he hasn’t had to go through so much with her, to let her work through issues in the same way. Still….we’ll see 😉

Its another story of murder and mayhem with an old enemy coming back. The demon Bola, the one who took control over the pack she was with years ago, until finally her Beast had enough and decimated them. She tries hard to keep her mind away from that time – it took her many years to get past it and thoughts still have the power to render her helpless. Who wouldn’t be, we know some of what she went through, but I suspect its just the tip of the iceberg. Wick can’t help her much tied as he is to Lucien, but where he can he does. Tristan doesn’t have those ties though but she doesn’t want to bring anyone she loves into danger so she’s off once more putting herself head first into trouble, with Lucien demanding she and Wick get rid of the demon yesterday, the SRD not being helpful, her witch neighbours…well, as usual they’re in the mix. I do like them, they make me smile with their odd ways, the karaoke nights and such.

There’s so much to puzzle out. How did Bola get here, what does he want ( other than a killing spree) and how can she get rid of him? He’s incredibly strong and she’d really like to kill him for good, not just banish him so he can get loose in the future. No-one seems to have any answers though, and Lucien is champing at the bit, threatening to gut Wick so as to hurt Andy, just to hurry her up. He doesn’t seem to realise she’s doing her best, he only cares how things look in the eyes of other vampires, and to stop any threats to him by them if they think he’s weak. Andy would love him to die, to finish the endless threats to Wick and his pack, but she’s tied to his life and she’d die too so she needs to do what she can to aid him.

Once more its a mix of multi-layered plots, of the love triangle and the need for her to make a choice, of her search for her roots and what lies in her future, and of course she feels a strong need as always to protect everyone, humans, Supes, Andy feels protective of all for different reasons. The end – that made me sooo sad, and yet I understood why. Just didn’t like it 😦 but in stories like this changes come thick and fast so I’m still hoping.

I love the chapter headings, make me smile and then I found a quote on one from another favourite series of mine, Darynda Jones Charley Davison novels. they have chapter headings that make me smile too and it was great to see a link between the two books. One of my all time favourites is the hospital sign On a scale from 1 to standing on a LEGO  brick how bad is your pain?  Anyone who’s been in contact with kids knows that pain!! My daughter told me LEGO are bringing out LEGO proof slippers….true or not I don’t know but as its usually in the early morning hours when we’re not wearing slippers that the worst attacks hit I don’t see them helping….

anyway, back to the book, its another great read and one for the keepers files.

 

Stars: Five, cracking read, fast paced and full of emotion.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

